Knefla Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
This was the second time I have made this soup. I live in ND and it seems to be a lot of people that love this soup. They say its a German soup. I changed the serving size to feed 15 since I have 7 in my home. and I also increased the chicken stock, for more flavor. Its a great soup, very hearty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Very tasty soup - comfort food. I did change a few things.. used chicken stock instead of bouillon, added more carrot and celery and made half the amount of the dumplings.. added dill to those too. Even with half the amount of dumplings, this was very thick. Leftovers even more so, so keep some stock around when you reheat the leftovers as it will need it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I took the advice of cutting milk back to one half cup and that left tough, doughy blobs of dumplings. Next time I will stick to recipe. The soup needs just a little more spice but it was good (without the bad dumplings.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sanger, Texas, USA
Living In: Murphy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
THis is a very good Knoephla soup recipe. My 6, 4 and 1 yr old ate their whole bowl and said it was the best soup ever. High reviews from tough critics. I will definitely be making this again. I did cut down on the amount of milk used to make the dough. Probably about 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
I made this last night, and it was excellent. Very true to North Dakota Knefla soup. I will definitely be making this again. The only change I made was using a 1/2 cup of milk for the dough instead of 1 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
This was AWESOME!! Even my very picky husband loved it, and he normally doesn't like soup or stew! I added 8 strips of bacon chopped into pieces for that extra flavor. I will be making this for my in-laws--that says how good it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Lovely winter soup. Very filling, makes a ton. The longest bit was making the dough bits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Excellent! I didn't put carrots or celery in mine because I'd gotten it at a restaurant and loved it, and it wasn't in the soup there. Great as a meal or an appetizer. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew's Wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ronan, Montana, USA
Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Very good recipe! My German father in law says this soup is 'just right'. I usually add a little more carrot and a couple more chicken cubes. I also find that 1 c of milk for the knephla is too much, and I always have to add a lot more flour. Other than that, this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
Wonderful lite meal!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States