Kiwi-Lime Pork Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This recipe was delicious. My husband is not a big fan of barbecue ribs and this is a great recipe alternative for something different. The only change I made was the salt. I used 2 teaspoons. Great flavor combinations with the chili powder, limes, and kiwi. I will definitely share this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I don't eat pork but this sauce goes GREAT with chicken. Like others, I halved the salt and used 3 kiwis instead of two, and brown sugar. Yummmm....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ronit Goldstand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
I thought this was a really good dish. I used 3 Kiwis and cut down the salt and chili powder as others suggested. I also used honey instead of white sugar and it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Thanks for posting this recipe! Note that the sauce is very forgiving. On short notice I used peaches instead of kiwis and lemon juice instead of lime, and still got rave reviews from the family. Also used cayenne to make up for a slight deficiency in the chili powder. Next time I'll go with the lime juice and, as others have said, halve the salt. I think pitted cherries or apricots would also work instead of kiwis. Would appreciate any hints on reducing the sugar, perhaps substituting Splenda, to make it more diabetic friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Delicious!!! I doubled sauce for 10 pounds of pork and I had plenty! Perfect balance of sweet and acid. Only changes were..I added half of a hefty bulb of garlic, about a quarter tsp of crushed red pepper flakes, oh and half a small onion, all into the blender. Winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Had this last night for supper...it was easy and good!! We are not huge pork fans but really liked this. My husband and I are on a whole 30 diet where we cannot have any added sugar, so instead of sugar I used honey...it was still sweet! But next time I will add more honey. We didn't add quite as much salt or chili powder due to other reviews. It baked for 45 minutes and was done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge City, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
I used 3 very ripe (soft) kiwis, and 2 tsp salt, would have been fine with 3 tsp. The sauce was sweet and fruity after cooking, and very good on pork. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
This recipe was very yummy! I made a few changes to the sauce: 3 kiwis, a pinch of salt, garlic powder (no cloves on hand), and half the chilli powder. I tasted the sauce before cooking, and thought there was enough chilli powder in it - but after cooking I couldn't taste it. I would add the full amount of chilli powder next time. I lined a casserole dish with parchment paper (made clean-up a snap!), and cooked a pork tenderloin in the oven at 400F for 1 hour. It was delicious. However, there is not too much taste of kiwi left after mixing all the ingredients together for the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
This was a hit with the whole family. I lined a cookie sheet with foil, large enough that it would wrap around to complete the "loose cover." Made clean up a breeze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
The sauce on these ribs was very tasty. I liked that it uses kiwi, which I haven't seen paired with meat before. Like others, I reduced the salt and used 2 teaspoons. My only complaint is that some of the sauce cooked into a sugary rock onto the baking sheet and it was very hard to clean. Next time I would line the bottom of the pan with foil as well as over the top, making a packet around the meat for easy clean up. Also I would like to try this recipe in the slow cooker to make the meat more tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Campanelle with Oven-Roasted Pork Ribs

Campanelle pasta is tossed with tender ribs, sliced cabbage, and flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States