Kiwi-Lime Pork Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Great unique flavor. Made as directed but used boneless chops on the stove top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NITES54
Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Life Tastes Good
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
This was delicious! Thank you for sharing your yummy recipe. I did make some changes to suit our tastes. For the sauce I cut the salt way down. 2 tablespoons sounds like a lot to me (I would like to ask the recipe submitter if that is maybe a typo), so I used 2 teaspoons and that was a good amount for us. I also reduced the chili powder by 1/2 and that was plenty for us-I felt 2 tablespoons would make the sauce taste like chili powder only. I tasted the sauce before pouring it over the meat and it was wonderful, so I was happy with the changes I made. I would suggest checking the temp of the meat about 45 mins into the cooking time - the meat was a tad overcooked, but it was still a big hit with the fam! This paired perfectly with garlic sauteed spinach and mashed potatoes. Did I mention the sauce was delish! I think I will try adding a third kiwi next time!! yummmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life Tastes Good

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Great sauce, a nice mix of sweet and spice. I halved the salt and it was just fine. I think this would make an excellent sauce for pork chops as well and will be trying it again in the near future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
different-very good two cloves of garlic and like others one tablespoon of salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
This is a fabulous recipe - we prefer this to barbeque and have made over and over for family and friends. Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I tried this because a friend gave me a bunch of kiwis that I had no idea what to do with. All I can say is WOW! I wanted to put this sauce on everything! Friends were licking the bones clean, then the plates, then asking for seconds. It is pretty salty though, so feel free to cut back on the salt and still have it taste fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
The sauce on these ribs was very tasty. I liked that it uses kiwi, which I haven't seen paired with meat before. Like others, I reduced the salt and used 2 teaspoons. My only complaint is that some of the sauce cooked into a sugary rock onto the baking sheet and it was very hard to clean. Next time I would line the bottom of the pan with foil as well as over the top, making a packet around the meat for easy clean up. Also I would like to try this recipe in the slow cooker to make the meat more tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
This was a hit with the whole family. I lined a cookie sheet with foil, large enough that it would wrap around to complete the "loose cover." Made clean up a breeze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
This recipe was very yummy! I made a few changes to the sauce: 3 kiwis, a pinch of salt, garlic powder (no cloves on hand), and half the chilli powder. I tasted the sauce before cooking, and thought there was enough chilli powder in it - but after cooking I couldn't taste it. I would add the full amount of chilli powder next time. I lined a casserole dish with parchment paper (made clean-up a snap!), and cooked a pork tenderloin in the oven at 400F for 1 hour. It was delicious. However, there is not too much taste of kiwi left after mixing all the ingredients together for the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
I used 3 very ripe (soft) kiwis, and 2 tsp salt, would have been fine with 3 tsp. The sauce was sweet and fruity after cooking, and very good on pork. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Campanelle with Oven-Roasted Pork Ribs

Campanelle pasta is tossed with tender ribs, sliced cabbage, and flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States