Kitty Litter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
This was a blast to make!!!! I put animal crackers in the food processor to make it more pebbely and crushed blue and green fruit loops for the "scent crystals"...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jenni
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
this is too funny! i had seen this recipe years ago, tomorrow is treat day at work......lol..... and i work at a mental health center! they're going to know i'm not right! :D anyway - the finished product looks absolutely "real"! we taste tested the "cake" and it's great. i used 1 carrot cake and 1 butter cake, and 8 vanilla snack pack pudding cups. i did not mix any poo into the cake, i don't think the chocolate would add anything to the flavors of the spice/butter cake. and the suggestion for the little debbies brownies as poo is purrrrrfect! hahahaha. i also didn't add any cookies to the cake mixture as i really think it would make it too dry. i used all of them on the top of the cake mixture, then sprinkled the "green" cookie litter evenly over the entire cake. also, i actually only used one brownie for all the poo that was needed. some pictures seemed that lots of tootsie rolls and brownies were overkill and didn't look as "real". I mean who lets their litter box actually get that filthy. I cant wait to take it tomorrow, if anybody asks about the litter box and scoop, i'll tell them i washed it first! (i'm still laughing) and thats the truth! have fun with this! happy halloween everybody! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salina, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lindsborg, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I have made this cake for my hubby and his co-workers for several years. They love it. Last year I made it for my co-workers who thought it was a riot. Those who could get past the site of it, thought it had a great flavor. I am making it again this year for both my hubby and I to take to work and an additional one for my son to take to his job. I have used several different variations with cake mixes, cookies and pudding and they all turn out great. Last year, I only had flourescent green food coloring and what an effect that had! I would encourage anyone who tries this recipe to use the litter box and scoop because no matter which cake mix, cookies, pudding or color of food coloring, the "eeewwww" can be heard all around and those who like sweets will like this cake! Definately a Halloween tradition in this household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Decorah, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I made this cake last halloween for an office party. In place of German chocolate and white cake the recipe I had found at that time used Spice cake and Butter cake. It was a yummy combo, and the Ewww! factor you get with this cake is awesome for Halloween!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
This cake did what I was hoping for...totally grossed out my kids! They seriously thought I had placed the cat box on the counter! However, I was not at all impressed with the flavor of the cake. I followed some of the suggestions and used chocolate pudding and 1 each choc/vanilla cake. I also limited the number of tootsie rolls as they are very difficult to eat with cake! I also had trouble getting the 1/4 Cup of vanilla cookies to dye green. Someone suggested Nilla Waffers next time. Will make again for shock value, just wish it tasted better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADONIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Helotes, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I made this for an office Halloween party 6 years ago and it was a hit! Not many people tasted it (due to it looking really nasty), but they still loved it. To get in the theme of things, my co worker and I dressed up as cats. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BacardiGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manly, Iowa, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Breanna Waliyyuddin
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Loved this! made it for my sons 8th Halloween bday party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Cake was a hit! I made it with the chocolate cake recipe on the Hershey's cocoa, silver white cake from Betty Crocker and cheese cake pudding. I used black coloring in the cookies (Golden oreo's) to make them darker, worked like a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I made this cake for a Halloween party a few years ago. It was so realistic, no one wanted to try it. Those who were brave enough loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Parisia Bates

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lexington Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Fantastic! HAHA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Cooper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mentor, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 375) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States