Kitty Litter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CHEEKYMAN
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
what a wonderful joke, delicious too!!I've made this twice now.I bought the smallest cat box I could find, and the first time, it barely covered the bottom. The second time I made up 2 vanilla cake mixes and one chocolate and it filled the pan alot better.Also, the second time, I added the pudding before it set and it was alot easier to mix.It was a big hit both times however, got lots of laughs.I would love to meet the twisted mind who first thought it up...genius.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
305 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEEKYMAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage La Prairie, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gina M. Scardina
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
I have found when doing this cake that the plastic liner makes it tough to scoop so I do not use the liner for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
283 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly B
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
We laughed the entire time making this cake. We couldn't believe how "real" it looked! We followed others advice: no liner, peanut butter sandwich cookies, cheese cake pudding and crushed up butterfinger bars in cake. Use the 4 inch long tootsie rolls and mircrowave for about 15-20 seconds. Let them set a few minutes and then take off the plate. They only needed a little shaping. It ended up tasting pretty good! You will never have more fun making a cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
231 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Goodrich, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Got gross reviews and that's what it's meant for, right!? This is the second time I've made this and to make it more tasteful I used two boxes Marble cake mix and two chocolate ready made pudding containers. I also used a tub of Creamy Fudge frosting which I microwaved and mixed with the pudding. This definitely moistened it and made it taste more like "chocolate cake" than dried cake with some pudding globs. I took the leftover frosting and drizzled on top of the cake before putting the cookie crumbs on it. You could use any type of cake mix and frosting because it's basically hidden underneath the cookie crumbs anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Horicon, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
I served this tonight at my girl scout troop's halloween party and it was a huge hit. The pan is almost empty. The cake tasted great and was perfect for the kids, but of course, the real knock-out was the way it looked. It was truly disgusting and had the parents gagging and snickering. I used Little Debbie brownies, rolled into poop-shapes, instead of tootsie rolls, which I thought would harden too easily. They looked even more realistic than the tootsie rolls. I also used an entire cup of cookie crumbs, dyed green, for the topping, and it looked really authentic. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sneedville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2001
Overall, this recipe was a great effect. It really "grossed" everybody out, but it really was tasty. But it wasn't as realistic on the first try, so I made some changes to the recipe. First, I got rid of the chocolate cake mix and opted for another white mix. Then I used Oreo cookies instead of vanilla creams. I still used a few vanilla creams with the green food coloring mixed in. And lastly, I sprinkled the whole thing with powdered sugar to mimic the baking soda that lots of folks put in their litter boxes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WYLCHILD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsborough, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Mebane, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
This was the most creative cake Iv ever seen! I made this for my husband to take to work today, he called me at noon and said everyone was cracking up and loved it. I didnt use a liner and it still looked fabulous. I did crush up a Butterfinger and add it to the mix for some extra flavor. I used 4 vanilla snack packs, and it was the perfect amount!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2003
I "serve" this cake up every year for our Halloween Party, and will be doing so again this year! Props totally make the cake! I really go for the gross-out effect and roll some of the pooh in the cookie crumbles. Not the tastiest cake, but the effect is what does it. Got a great photo last year of my cat peeking into the pan (while everyone ran to keep her out!)! Thanks Dee for always making my Halloween Party a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
Fun cake to make, tastes okay, but most people wouldn't get near it. A lot of work for something almost no one would try. Couldn't get past how gross it looked I guess. Terrific for Halloween, or any time you want high "gross out factor" but expect it to be decorative, not dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
I love this cake! I first made it for my good friend's (who is a wrestling coach) Halloween party for his wrestlers, figuring they, being middle school aged, would appreciate "toilet humor". They loved it and, surprisingly, it tastes GREAT! I can't get over how yummy it tastes and how realistic it looks. I'm always looking for an excuse to take this somewhere (though it never fails someone asks if the box/scoop are used......gross). You really can't beat this for a Halloween or Fear Factor themed party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 373) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States