Kitty Litter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I have made this cake for my hubby and his co-workers for several years. They love it. Last year I made it for my co-workers who thought it was a riot. Those who could get past the site of it, thought it had a great flavor. I am making it again this year for both my hubby and I to take to work and an additional one for my son to take to his job. I have used several different variations with cake mixes, cookies and pudding and they all turn out great. Last year, I only had flourescent green food coloring and what an effect that had! I would encourage anyone who tries this recipe to use the litter box and scoop because no matter which cake mix, cookies, pudding or color of food coloring, the "eeewwww" can be heard all around and those who like sweets will like this cake! Definately a Halloween tradition in this household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Decorah, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I made this cake last halloween for an office party. In place of German chocolate and white cake the recipe I had found at that time used Spice cake and Butter cake. It was a yummy combo, and the Ewww! factor you get with this cake is awesome for Halloween!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
This cake did what I was hoping for...totally grossed out my kids! They seriously thought I had placed the cat box on the counter! However, I was not at all impressed with the flavor of the cake. I followed some of the suggestions and used chocolate pudding and 1 each choc/vanilla cake. I also limited the number of tootsie rolls as they are very difficult to eat with cake! I also had trouble getting the 1/4 Cup of vanilla cookies to dye green. Someone suggested Nilla Waffers next time. Will make again for shock value, just wish it tasted better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADONIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Helotes, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I made this for an office Halloween party 6 years ago and it was a hit! Not many people tasted it (due to it looking really nasty), but they still loved it. To get in the theme of things, my co worker and I dressed up as cats. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BacardiGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manly, Iowa, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Breanna Waliyyuddin
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Loved this! made it for my sons 8th Halloween bday party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Cake was a hit! I made it with the chocolate cake recipe on the Hershey's cocoa, silver white cake from Betty Crocker and cheese cake pudding. I used black coloring in the cookies (Golden oreo's) to make them darker, worked like a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I made this cake for a Halloween party a few years ago. It was so realistic, no one wanted to try it. Those who were brave enough loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Parisia Bates

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lexington Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Fantastic! HAHA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Cooper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mentor, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
My kids loved this. The tast was good, once you get past the gross factor and that it actually looks like the cat box. A must for any kids party
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by graphxlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chino, California, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Made this for treat day at work, it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anthony Moore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 373) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States