Kitchen Sink Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Wow, this was so good! I cut the recipe in half and used two chicken bouillen cubes in 5 cups of water, 1 red potato, 1 cup mushrooms, 1 cup fresh spinach, 1/2 cup onion, 1 cup fresh cilantro leaves, 1 cup green beans, 1 cup broccoli, and 1 teaspoon garlic powder. I also added two slices of cooked bacon and a cooked chicken breast. I served this with basil buttered french bread and it was delicious, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
I liked this, and it's so versatile that you can use what ever veggies take your fancy. I made as is, and will make again with a couple of changes. I will cook the potatoes first, then when they are half done I will add the rest of the veggies for 10mins so they don't go too mushy. I would leave out the wax beans, use red bell pepper instead of green, and add more chickpeas and cauliflower. This is a delicious healthy soup, and will join my rotation :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nelson, Nelson-Marlborough, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
I love this versitile soup - anything goes! For my soup - I left out the peas, green beans and wax beans, but used all the other vegetables, and added some chopped pumpkin, and a can of corn. It was so good and filling. I usually make a variety of thick pureed vegetable soups, but i like this one that has discernable pieces and a think tasty broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Excellent starter soup - almost anything from the fridge or garden can be added!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sandpoint, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
This was great! I added a whole stick of butter and some extra parsley. Rather than dumping everything together, I started the pot with a little bit of broth, added the onions, and let that cook while I was chopping up other veggies. I went from fresh raw veggies to soft canned ones, adding to the pot as I chopped and increasing the amount of broth (just enough to cover everything and kept it boiling). So by the time I had added everything to the pot, the soup was practically done. I let it all cook for 10 mins to let the flavors combine. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Fabulous way to use up vegetables!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissEisbar

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Loved it! I threw in everything I had in the fringe and the cupboard. I seasoned as directed and added a little cilantro and about a tsp. fresh ginger ('cause I had them) it was hearty and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie Hodawanus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
Perfect for it's ease and simplicity for a casual Sunday night dinner! I used a higher end bouillon paste, ensured the presence of a complex protein through beans and a whole grain, threw in whatever vegetables we had in the refrigerator, and got a huge thumbs up! Combined with grilled cheese sandwiches, it was wonderful comfort food with little effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rocky Hill Gal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Excellent and simple. Kids helped with prep. Used alot of ingredients up... Didn't have / use broccoli, cauliflower, wax beans, parsnip, navy beans. Did have extra 3 potatoes, 2 banana peppers, yellow bell pepper instead of green, 2 cups of dried shittake mushrooms, 2 cups frozen chickpeas, 2 cups of frozen green peas, 1 lb. fresh green beans. Used homemade chicken stock. Very delicious! Salt and pepper to taste. Very good with biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
Perfect cold weather soup and a great way to use up veggies you have laying around. I use a different variety each time and have never been disappointed with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States