Kipfels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
This was a little bit more labor intensive, but most definitely worth the time. I rolled the dough thinly and cut it into triagle shapes (about 2"x2"x2") and spread the filling onto the triagles, and then rolled them up like a crescent roll. They were very pretty and very tasty. I made them for Christmas this year and everybody loved them. Highly reccommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pine Knot, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
5 stars for taste, 2 for instructions. The instructions from the "Waser Kipfels" recipie work for this one though... for example, cooking the walnut/milk mix on medium heat while stirring constantly. I still didn't end up with dough rolled to the right thickness (ended up with a fair bit of filling left over) but I think with some experimenting this is a good recipie. Instead of cresents, I put the filling in the middle of dough squares, then folded up opposite corners into the middle, and pressed all the seams to seal - looks pretty and is easy to do without having filling get into the seams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by laidback
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
These are my favorite cookies! When making them, I roll the dough out into a circle, and cut it like a pizza! I usually get 6 or 8 triangles of dough with each circle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laidback

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Monica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
Just like my grandmothers!!She taught me how to make these when I was a child and the recipe never got written down but this is it. The only thing I changed was adding a pinch of salt to the dough and a little B.P. I remember her doing that. I used a cooked nut filling and dusted them with powdered sugar when they cooled a bit. My father said it tasted like childhood. Thank you so much for posting this recipe. We're from the Hungarian/Ukrainian border and the old fashioned cake and cookie recipes are so hard to come by.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2000
The very best cookie,I've looked for this recipe for years !! They used to sell them at a bakery when I was growing up in Wisconsin. All the other recipes I've tried had a raw filling. this is the real thing, Thank You Sally !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2003
Very good cookie. Instructions for rolling and shaping were a bit vague so my wife and myself ended up making all different shapes and sizes from nice crescent shaped to rectangular anywhere from 1x1 to 1-1/2x2 with thicknesses from paper thin to about 1/8" thick on the dough. If I had read the shaping instructions from Esther's Waser Kipfels (also on this site) we would have had a much better idea on dough thickness and size. But even with the non-understanding these turned out very good. Specially for only a second time cookie baker. Will make again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
These are SO good but difficult to make. I've made two batches. As I made the first batch, I told myself I would never make these again (they are difficult and take lots of time and patience) Then I tasted them and knew I'd make them again! Rolling these takes some technique. I found that working with 1/4 of the dough at a time worked best. I cut the dough into 2-1/2 x 3" rectangles, spread the filling on the long side, rolled and shaped. This worked okay. I tried the "purse" technique that someone suggested and they just fell apart in the oven. I ate the ugly ones and sprinkled the rest with powdered sugar to cover the flaws. Also, I ended up having extra filling both times. I used the extra filling to make what I have coined as "Kipfel Bread" -- it's really, really good and I'll be posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
This is an incredible recipe. My only concern is that the recipe didn’t specify how thick to roll the dough. The dough ended up rolling out to about 1/16 of an inch with two to three passes of the rolling pin and didn’t roll up to anything resembling a crescent. The recipe made about 40 cookies instead of 18 but they were gone within a half hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
Little unsure why this is called a cookie, I'd call it a pastry myself. Regardless, the taste is to die for, but I'm still having serious trouble working out how to roll them up so they make a crescent. Details on what the finished texture and look of the Kipfels should be would be handy. The filling is very yummy straight out of the saucepan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
The walnut filling was really good once it was baked, but the dough was too thin. All the cookies flattened and spread out over the cookie sheets into a giant mess of a cookie to scrape off onto a cooling rack to try to salvage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States