Kipfels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I save a few steps and use refrigerated pie crust for the dough.I cut it with a pizza cutter into wedge shapes. makes these cookies MUCH easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by laidback
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
These are my favorite cookies! When making them, I roll the dough out into a circle, and cut it like a pizza! I usually get 6 or 8 triangles of dough with each circle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laidback

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Monica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
i had the WORST time with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
These are SO good but difficult to make. I've made two batches. As I made the first batch, I told myself I would never make these again (they are difficult and take lots of time and patience) Then I tasted them and knew I'd make them again! Rolling these takes some technique. I found that working with 1/4 of the dough at a time worked best. I cut the dough into 2-1/2 x 3" rectangles, spread the filling on the long side, rolled and shaped. This worked okay. I tried the "purse" technique that someone suggested and they just fell apart in the oven. I ate the ugly ones and sprinkled the rest with powdered sugar to cover the flaws. Also, I ended up having extra filling both times. I used the extra filling to make what I have coined as "Kipfel Bread" -- it's really, really good and I'll be posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
The walnut filling was really good once it was baked, but the dough was too thin. All the cookies flattened and spread out over the cookie sheets into a giant mess of a cookie to scrape off onto a cooling rack to try to salvage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
Just like my grandmothers!!She taught me how to make these when I was a child and the recipe never got written down but this is it. The only thing I changed was adding a pinch of salt to the dough and a little B.P. I remember her doing that. I used a cooked nut filling and dusted them with powdered sugar when they cooled a bit. My father said it tasted like childhood. Thank you so much for posting this recipe. We're from the Hungarian/Ukrainian border and the old fashioned cake and cookie recipes are so hard to come by.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
5 stars for taste, 2 for instructions. The instructions from the "Waser Kipfels" recipie work for this one though... for example, cooking the walnut/milk mix on medium heat while stirring constantly. I still didn't end up with dough rolled to the right thickness (ended up with a fair bit of filling left over) but I think with some experimenting this is a good recipie. Instead of cresents, I put the filling in the middle of dough squares, then folded up opposite corners into the middle, and pressed all the seams to seal - looks pretty and is easy to do without having filling get into the seams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
Little unsure why this is called a cookie, I'd call it a pastry myself. Regardless, the taste is to die for, but I'm still having serious trouble working out how to roll them up so they make a crescent. Details on what the finished texture and look of the Kipfels should be would be handy. The filling is very yummy straight out of the saucepan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
This is an incredible recipe. My only concern is that the recipe didn’t specify how thick to roll the dough. The dough ended up rolling out to about 1/16 of an inch with two to three passes of the rolling pin and didn’t roll up to anything resembling a crescent. The recipe made about 40 cookies instead of 18 but they were gone within a half hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2003
Very good cookie. Instructions for rolling and shaping were a bit vague so my wife and myself ended up making all different shapes and sizes from nice crescent shaped to rectangular anywhere from 1x1 to 1-1/2x2 with thicknesses from paper thin to about 1/8" thick on the dough. If I had read the shaping instructions from Esther's Waser Kipfels (also on this site) we would have had a much better idea on dough thickness and size. But even with the non-understanding these turned out very good. Specially for only a second time cookie baker. Will make again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States