King Ranch Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
The fiance and I LOVE this recipe, I've already made it twice in less than a month. Made a few changes - I cooked three boneless chicken breasts, seasoned with taco seasoning, plus all the veggies (and two diced jalapenos, we like the heat) in the slow cooker on high for 3 hours, then shredded the chicken and combined the veggies with the soups (I used Campbell's Creamy Poblano Queso and Cream of Chicken) and other ingredients. Used Pepper Jack cheese instead of Cheddar, to give it even more kick. I've shared my version with several friends, all of whom loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
This recipe is fantastic! Had to make a few minor changes due to what I had on hand. 2 cans mushroom soup as no chicken. 1 tsp chili powder and 1/4 tsp smoked paprika (only had one kind of chili powder). Used quite a bit more tortillas as I wanted full layers. I also only used 1/2 cup of broth as I thought it might be too runny. I don't think anything I changed affected the taste to any real extent. This was fantastic. Served with rice, sour cream, tortillas, hot peppers and salsa. Thank you so much for sharing this! Oh they had legs and thighs on sale so I bought 6, baked them then pulled apart, I think any large amount of chicken would work great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nhanna
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
It was alright. It needed salt. I thought it'd be a little better to be honest and I love chef john. EDIT: Soooo The next day while at work, hubby texts me and says wow this is amazing!! I asked him, the casserole??? (He wasn't home last night for dinner) he says YES! I come home to three men with three empty plates. Hmmm. I heated some up for dinner and like they did, put a little Texas Pete on top and its soooooo much better! I don't know if it's because it got thicker or what but it definitely is better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
I made a triple batch for a party. It was delicious but we had a lot left over. It was even better the second day. I was going to freeze one of the casseroles but it ended up I had it for lunch and dinner for about four days and didn't get sick of it. It kept calling my name.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2015
Ok I did make some modifications due to what I had on hand and also other reviews, but it still turned out GREAT and I don't think it changed the fundamental recipe. Here goes: used an Anaheim chili instead of the green pepper; did not use any broth, it just didn't need any; used about 1/4 cup sour cream and less cumin; used regular chili powder instead of the 2 listed; used fresh cilantro, about 1/4 cup instead of oregano; and used crumbly tortilla chips instead of the tortillas. It made a wonderful dinner and TO DIE FOR leftovers the next day. I had never heard of this before, not living in Texas, and I will certainly use this recipe again, thanks for posting, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
Followed the recipe and it turned out quite delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Wacker Strange

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
I would bump up the heat by using jalapeño peppers instead of green peppers, but I like a bit of heat. I also changed the cream of mushroom for cream of onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne Pou Keene

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
Delish! Like an enchilada unwrapped! Definitely a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan French

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
I have made this several times and it is one of our favorite chicken casseroles ever. You can substitute ingredients if you don't have everything and it still turns out great. We like it spicey so I use jalapeño peppers instead of bell but you can make it to your own preference. I don't often use canned soups but for this they work great. It's even better the next day. I've made it with corn tortills and with corn chips and I prefer the chips. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Excelent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole

See how to make a cheesy chicken and corn tortilla casserole.

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

See how to make a terrific weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States