King Ranch Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
Great recipe! I just used regular chili powder. Easy recipe to freeze. I recommend letting it sit out of oven a good 20-30 min otherwise it's pretty goopy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MothraMandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
Five stars ARE NOT enough to be fair. It was the hit of my dinner party for my daughter's baptism. I did not add the chicken broth, and it really made the difference. Also, using the tortilla chips, instead of regular ones makes a big deal. Loved it. Per another reviewer, I topped the casserole with Pepperjack cheese. Wow! One rotisserie chicken was enough. And, I used green chile peppers ( 1 med. can)instead of the fresh green peppers, and it was a nice touch. This casserole was large...I mean big. No need for doubling. Chef John, you are one amazing chef! Thank you...and "Muchas, muchisimas gracias, Chef"!!!!!!!!! Que viva Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INESPR

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Ridge, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2015
I grew up in Texas and have really missed this dish. My husband and I enjoyed this recipe, but decided we would like more tortillas in it next time. Other than that, I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cjordan79
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2015
I was kinda nervous because I've had this dish a million times but never actually made it myself. I didn't alter anything except I couldn't find chipotle chili. It was so good. My entire family ate it including my 16 month old. It was very easy and will be a regular on our menu! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
I've made this several times, but I wanted to cut the sodium a bit and amp up the flavor. I used low sodium soups and instead of broth I used no sodium chicken bouillon. I didn't have chipolte powder so I used hot chile powder (more than called for) and added a small can of diced green chilis. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
The fiance and I LOVE this recipe, I've already made it twice in less than a month. Made a few changes - I cooked three boneless chicken breasts, seasoned with taco seasoning, plus all the veggies (and two diced jalapenos, we like the heat) in the slow cooker on high for 3 hours, then shredded the chicken and combined the veggies with the soups (I used Campbell's Creamy Poblano Queso and Cream of Chicken) and other ingredients. Used Pepper Jack cheese instead of Cheddar, to give it even more kick. I've shared my version with several friends, all of whom loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
This recipe is fantastic! Had to make a few minor changes due to what I had on hand. 2 cans mushroom soup as no chicken. 1 tsp chili powder and 1/4 tsp smoked paprika (only had one kind of chili powder). Used quite a bit more tortillas as I wanted full layers. I also only used 1/2 cup of broth as I thought it might be too runny. I don't think anything I changed affected the taste to any real extent. This was fantastic. Served with rice, sour cream, tortillas, hot peppers and salsa. Thank you so much for sharing this! Oh they had legs and thighs on sale so I bought 6, baked them then pulled apart, I think any large amount of chicken would work great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nhanna
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
It was alright. It needed salt. I thought it'd be a little better to be honest and I love chef john. EDIT: Soooo The next day while at work, hubby texts me and says wow this is amazing!! I asked him, the casserole??? (He wasn't home last night for dinner) he says YES! I come home to three men with three empty plates. Hmmm. I heated some up for dinner and like they did, put a little Texas Pete on top and its soooooo much better! I don't know if it's because it got thicker or what but it definitely is better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
I made a triple batch for a party. It was delicious but we had a lot left over. It was even better the second day. I was going to freeze one of the casseroles but it ended up I had it for lunch and dinner for about four days and didn't get sick of it. It kept calling my name.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2015
Ok I did make some modifications due to what I had on hand and also other reviews, but it still turned out GREAT and I don't think it changed the fundamental recipe. Here goes: used an Anaheim chili instead of the green pepper; did not use any broth, it just didn't need any; used about 1/4 cup sour cream and less cumin; used regular chili powder instead of the 2 listed; used fresh cilantro, about 1/4 cup instead of oregano; and used crumbly tortilla chips instead of the tortillas. It made a wonderful dinner and TO DIE FOR leftovers the next day. I had never heard of this before, not living in Texas, and I will certainly use this recipe again, thanks for posting, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole

See how to make a cheesy chicken and corn tortilla casserole.

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

See how to make a terrific weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States