King Ranch Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I made this recipe as described and was a little disappointed. It had a nice flavor overall but the flavor seemed a bit off. Next time, I will reduce to one pepper and add green chilis to balance it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
This dish was terrible. My husband and I couldn't eat it, I ended up throwing it out, which was a waste of food and time. I followed the recipe exactly and used the corn tortillas but they still came out soggy. We also didn't like the combination of cream soups and tomatoes. They don't seem to go together too well, at least for us. It was a soggy bland mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Amazing, and easily adjustable to taste. My kids are picky eaters and I just watched everyone go back for seconds! Hallelujah! My daughter LOVES cheese enchiladas and queso dip, however, she somehow scrapes anything red or green off her chip and only eats the cheese. So, I usually don't review a recipe I modify, but for those of you with kids, these tips may help: I was in a hurry so I grabbed two cheap rotisserie chickens and used the breast meat. Fast, easy, cheap and lots of flavor. I think dark meat might be too greasy, especially if you add extra cheese. I substituted the green bell pepper for a 4oz can of chopped green chilies. I sauteed the red bell pepper and onion together and added some minced garlic until pepper and onion were soft. Added the green chiles and Rotel and put it all in a blender to "hide" it. PERFECT! I only used a 1 1/2 tsp cumin and plain chili powder in place of the Ancho and Chipotle (my kids are more familiar with these flavors). HUGE HIT! Will definitely make this again. I'm sure the original recipe is also amazing, but doing it this way, my kids got some veggies - bwahahaha. 40 minutes was the exact right time and there was plenty of sauce. I will absolutely make this a regular meal in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Excellent dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as stated, since that's the only way to really give it a fair shot. (I don't put much stock in reviews that don't evaluate the actual recipe!) Honestly, the flavor is good. my only complaint was the texture. There needs to be something in there with some crunch. Maybe I cut the chicken into pieces that were to small. It would have been better if the peppers or onions had maintained some of their crunch. I'll try it again and maybe not saute the onion and peppers. Or perhaps garnish the top with crushed corn chips. It just needs something to give it more structure. But again, the taste is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Jenness Nawrocki

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2014
I loved this casserole. The first time I made it with 3 large chicken breasts, cooked and cut into small chunks. Second time I used a store bought rotisserie chicken. Both turned out well, but thought the chicken breast meat came out better in the casserole. Next time I'll definitely use a hotter Rotel, due to personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Imy husband can't stand bell peppers so I made his recipe exactly as shown except instead of bell pepper I sautéed the onion with a jalapino pepper seeded and chopped. I then added a can of corn and a can of sliced olives to the chicken. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Interesting, recipe sounded good but as I made it I started regretting my decision. Then we ate it and everyone liked it! I did cut back on the onion and bell pepper and probably would cut back a little more and I think I would also use tortilla chips next time, but we all enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I've made this twice now and the second time was definitely better. First time I followed the recipe exactly as written and it came out a little too "sloppy" and we ended up adding tortilla chips as we ate it. The second time I added a few more tortillas, used hot Rotel, and also used leftover brisket instead of chicken. I got rave reviews and can't wait to eat the leftovers!! Wonderful recipe and it will definitely be used again:-)Maybe next time I will use tortilla chips instead of corn tortillas, as suggested by another reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Great taste. REALLY creamy. Almost chicken tortilla soup-ish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole

See how to make a cheesy chicken and corn tortilla casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States