King Ranch Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Amazing, and easily adjustable to taste. My kids are picky eaters and I just watched everyone go back for seconds! Hallelujah! My daughter LOVES cheese enchiladas and queso dip, however, she somehow scrapes anything red or green off her chip and only eats the cheese. So, I usually don't review a recipe I modify, but for those of you with kids, these tips may help: I was in a hurry so I grabbed two cheap rotisserie chickens and used the breast meat. Fast, easy, cheap and lots of flavor. I think dark meat might be too greasy, especially if you add extra cheese. I substituted the green bell pepper for a 4oz can of chopped green chilies. I sauteed the red bell pepper and onion together and added some minced garlic until pepper and onion were soft. Added the green chiles and Rotel and put it all in a blender to "hide" it. PERFECT! I only used a 1 1/2 tsp cumin and plain chili powder in place of the Ancho and Chipotle (my kids are more familiar with these flavors). HUGE HIT! Will definitely make this again. I'm sure the original recipe is also amazing, but doing it this way, my kids got some veggies - bwahahaha. 40 minutes was the exact right time and there was plenty of sauce. I will absolutely make this a regular meal in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Excellent dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as stated, since that's the only way to really give it a fair shot. (I don't put much stock in reviews that don't evaluate the actual recipe!) Honestly, the flavor is good. my only complaint was the texture. There needs to be something in there with some crunch. Maybe I cut the chicken into pieces that were to small. It would have been better if the peppers or onions had maintained some of their crunch. I'll try it again and maybe not saute the onion and peppers. Or perhaps garnish the top with crushed corn chips. It just needs something to give it more structure. But again, the taste is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shiny me

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2014
I loved this casserole. The first time I made it with 3 large chicken breasts, cooked and cut into small chunks. Second time I used a store bought rotisserie chicken. Both turned out well, but thought the chicken breast meat came out better in the casserole. Next time I'll definitely use a hotter Rotel, due to personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Imy husband can't stand bell peppers so I made his recipe exactly as shown except instead of bell pepper I sautéed the onion with a jalapino pepper seeded and chopped. I then added a can of corn and a can of sliced olives to the chicken. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Interesting, recipe sounded good but as I made it I started regretting my decision. Then we ate it and everyone liked it! I did cut back on the onion and bell pepper and probably would cut back a little more and I think I would also use tortilla chips next time, but we all enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I've made this twice now and the second time was definitely better. First time I followed the recipe exactly as written and it came out a little too "sloppy" and we ended up adding tortilla chips as we ate it. The second time I added a few more tortillas, used hot Rotel, and also used leftover brisket instead of chicken. I got rave reviews and can't wait to eat the leftovers!! Wonderful recipe and it will definitely be used again:-)Maybe next time I will use tortilla chips instead of corn tortillas, as suggested by another reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Great taste. REALLY creamy. Almost chicken tortilla soup-ish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Made this per recipe but didn't find ancho chili powder or chipotle chili powder so I just bought a chipotle taco seasoning and used some of that along with some regular chili powder. Turned out great! The whole thing got eaten up. I will make this again; and probably often. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Easy and great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

King Ranch Chicken Casserole

See how to make a cheesy chicken and corn tortilla casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States