King Ranch Chicken Casserole III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
I grew up in Texas and remember eating this ALL the time as a kid. My mom's recipe is almost identical, although we do a few things different. First, add a couple of cloves of garlic to the onion and bell pepper and saute for 5 minutes or so to soften. I also buy a pre-cooked rotisserie chicken from my grocery store and debone the meat and use that instead of chicken breasts - easy and fast :). Use only 1 cup (1/2 can) of broth, heat that in the microwave and dip the corn tortillas in this (which we tear into strips) before adding to casserole. Lastly, our recipe has 3 cups of cheese, but we toss that with 3 teaspoons of chili powder and 1 tsp of cayenne pepper. In a 13X9 pan, layer in this order, 1/2 the chicken, 1/2 the sauteed veggies, 1/2 the dipped tortillas, 1/3 of the cheese mixture, remaining chicken, remaining veggies, remaining tortillas, 1/3 of cheese. Add the leftover broth (from dipping the tortillas) to the soups and Rotel mixture and pour this over the top. 10 minutes before baking is finished, top with the remaining cheese mixture. Yummy, yummy, yummy. If you like more/less spice, you can adjust the cayenne pepper and/or add Tobasco sauce and now-a-days, you can buy the Extra Hot or Mild brands of Rotel. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
350 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
Wonderful! My mom had this recipe for years, and now I have it online. :) Her steps are MUCH easier though, and you DON'T add the broth to the mixture (would make it too soggy, as others have noted). First, mix the onion, bell pepper, and chicken together. Layer half of it in a 13x9x2" pan. Second, heat one can of chicken broth, and dip half the tortillas in (to soften them), one at a time, then layer them on top of the chicken mixture. Third, add the remaining chicken mixture, then the remaining tortillas (again, dipped in chicken broth first). Fourth, add the layer of cheese, and sprinkle with chili powder and garlic salt. Fifth, combine the soups and tomatoes, then add that layer. Done! (One tip: I saute' the onions and bell pepper a little bit before mixing with the chicken - I found that if I don't, they aren't quite done enough, even after baking.) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
254 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
Made this using a few of the changes in other comments; cut tortillas into strips, decreased chicken broth to 1 cup and only used to dip tortilla strips, added 2 cloves of fresh garlic, pressed and sauted with onion and bell pepper until onion was translucent and tossed chili powder into cheese before sprinkling on layers. It was sooooooo excellent! Made one for my family and 1 for another and everyone wants more!!!! Next time I will use 2-3 whole chicken breasts and up the cheese to 12 ounces. Still it was EXCELLENT the way it turned out, just trying to tweak it a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sandpoint, Idaho, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
Being from Texas I've tried many recipes for King Ranch chicken casserole but this is by far the best my family and I have ever tasted. I did saute the pepper and onion before adding them to the cassserole so they wouldn't be hard. I also dipped the tortillas in the chicken broth and only used 1 can of chicken broth to the casserole and it came out PERFECT. The family is already asking when I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
This recipe has been in my family for years, but we do not do two layers - just tortillas in strips topped with chicken, topped with shredded cheese (we use 1 lb. Velveeta or mexican Velveeta is even better and so creamy melting)and then pour the soup mixture over all. I usually make it a few hours before I bake it and the soup mixture always makes its way through the entire casserole and is never too dry at the bottom. This also allows the flavors to blend well. It also freezes or keeps in the fridge well this way if you want to bake it the next day or later. A total fave of all my boys!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
I love this recipe! My family has been making a similar recipe for years. In my recipe, I use 2 cans of cream of chicken and no cream o mushrooms, & I go ahead and mix the chicken with the sauce rather than layering seperate (saves a step). I also save some diced chiles and tomates to put on top layer for color. I hope everyone enjoys this recipe as much as my family does. It is super easy and quick but wows dinner guest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
This recipe is very much like mine. The differences: I use 2 cans of cream of chicken soup and 2 cans of diced tomatoes with green chilies (Rotel). I use garlic powder instead of garlic salt; I also sprinkle ground cumin in addition to the chili powder. My family loves this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2002
I prefer to leave out the broth, use 3 cups of cheddar, and add about 1/4 cup coursely chopped cilantro, and 1 large chopped fresh jalapeno. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Easy and satisfying. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by parsonsperson

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
This is an incredibly flavorful and very easy-to-personalize recipe. I subbed a can of cheese soup for the mushroom, and sauteed the peppers and onions with some spices to soften them, and those worked great for us. I used the full amount of broth and while it was soupy when hot, the extra liquid was thick and delicious, not watery at all. If you prefer drier tortillas/casseroles decrease the broth, but I think I'll stick to making it this way. Serving with tortillas and rice would work well. Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

King Ranch Chicken Casserole

See how to make a cheesy chicken and corn tortilla casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States