King Ranch Chicken Casserole III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
De.Licious. I've had King Ranch Chicken once, so I don't have anything to compare this to -- but this tasted *amazing*. I ended up boiling about 1 lb. of boneless, skinless chicken tenders in 4 cups of water with 2 bullion cubes, and shredding the tenders -- I wish I'd had more chicken! After I took out the tenders, I then used that broth (which boiled down to maybe 3-ish cups, but I still just measured out 2 cups), and added the soups to the pot. All I had on hand was a 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes with green chiles, so I drained out that liquid & ended up using all of that, plus I used half a bag of the frozen bell pepper/onion mix from my grocery store -- perfect. I sprinkled Mrs. Dash chipotle seasoning on top after everything + a bit more salt, baked it at 350 for 35 mins (then kept it on warm for the next hour bc we had to run out of the house) -- Fabulous. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
I thought this was a tasty, easy, good recipe. I added fresh cilantro as I actually had some on hand. As with other reviewers, I did things a little differently, and was very happy with the results. I do recommend baking the tortillas until crispy. Mine kept their shape and didn't disintegrate. I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Anne Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
easy to make with a pre-cooked rotisserie chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer1512

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Very tasy. I cooked 3 chicken breasts with about half a yellow onion and 3 cloves of garlic. I omitted a cup of chicken broth and used two cans of cream of chicken (instead of one of each). Otherwise I cooked it the same. 350 for 30 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JZINOLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
My family loves this. I double the recipe, make 2 pans, and freeze one for later. I made this exactly like the recipe the first time and it was great! The next time I just mixed everything in a big bowl and then poured it into a pan. It is just as delicious and much faster and easier to make. We just tore the tortillas into bite size pieces and stirred them right in! This is not soupy at all if you bake it uncovered and then let it sit for 20 minutes after taking it out of the oven. Thx for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
this recipe is a staple at my house; my college student requests it every time he comes home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GAHSMOMX3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I literally JUST made this--it's not too bad. I'll happily eat it for most of the week, but I can see where there are a few issues. First, I used more tortillas than was probably called for (I used corn tortillas, by the way). It does border on runny, but with all the extra tortillas they did a good job soaking things up. If you were to use flour tortillas, or just less tortillas in general, definetly cut back on the stock, and at least hold the lid of the rotel in place to drain the can a little bit. Spice-wise, I found it a bit one-note. Extra onions and bell peppers next time, maybe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
very bland. too soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Hockley, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
We adjusted this for 30 people and it worked. Also it was a great hit, what was left over people put in a bowl and took it home. We used two big trays from the store, the kind that had an extra wire handles on the side, it helps because this dish when fixed for 30 people is heavy. We also prepaired it the day before and put it it in the fridge and took it out for supper, put it in the oven warmed it and cheesed it and loved watching folks eat a hot steaming meal. We also boiled 4 chickens (whole) for this meal and it was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Delicious comfort food!!! Careful though, it's kinda hard not to go back for seconds and thirds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MA McBridges

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole

See how to make a cheesy chicken and corn tortilla casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States