King Ranch Chicken Casserole III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I made this tasty dish for my family and everyone loved it! I did follow some suggestions. I used one cup of chicken broth instead of 2 as I didn't want a "soupy" casserole. Also, I did not cover with foil either. In addition I sauteed the onion and bell pepper prior to mixing. One more thing, I mixed the chili powder and added one teaspoon of cumin powder with the soup mix. I don't like salty so I omitted the garlic salt and just added 1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder to the soup mix too. If you have children who don't like spicy foods you can reduce the chili powder. However, the can of diced tomatoes and green chili peppers will also add to the spiciness of the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whachagotcooking

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
This was average. I have never had King Ranch Chicken before but I see recipes for it all the time. The dish just isn't a "wow" to me. I don't think it had anything to do with the recipe, it was just the dish itself. I gave the leftovers to a friend and she loved it. She couldn't get over how good it was. So, it must have been me-it maust be a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
De.Licious. I've had King Ranch Chicken once, so I don't have anything to compare this to -- but this tasted *amazing*. I ended up boiling about 1 lb. of boneless, skinless chicken tenders in 4 cups of water with 2 bullion cubes, and shredding the tenders -- I wish I'd had more chicken! After I took out the tenders, I then used that broth (which boiled down to maybe 3-ish cups, but I still just measured out 2 cups), and added the soups to the pot. All I had on hand was a 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes with green chiles, so I drained out that liquid & ended up using all of that, plus I used half a bag of the frozen bell pepper/onion mix from my grocery store -- perfect. I sprinkled Mrs. Dash chipotle seasoning on top after everything + a bit more salt, baked it at 350 for 35 mins (then kept it on warm for the next hour bc we had to run out of the house) -- Fabulous. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
I thought this was a tasty, easy, good recipe. I added fresh cilantro as I actually had some on hand. As with other reviewers, I did things a little differently, and was very happy with the results. I do recommend baking the tortillas until crispy. Mine kept their shape and didn't disintegrate. I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Anne Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
easy to make with a pre-cooked rotisserie chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer1512

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Very tasy. I cooked 3 chicken breasts with about half a yellow onion and 3 cloves of garlic. I omitted a cup of chicken broth and used two cans of cream of chicken (instead of one of each). Otherwise I cooked it the same. 350 for 30 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JZINOLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
My family loves this. I double the recipe, make 2 pans, and freeze one for later. I made this exactly like the recipe the first time and it was great! The next time I just mixed everything in a big bowl and then poured it into a pan. It is just as delicious and much faster and easier to make. We just tore the tortillas into bite size pieces and stirred them right in! This is not soupy at all if you bake it uncovered and then let it sit for 20 minutes after taking it out of the oven. Thx for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
this recipe is a staple at my house; my college student requests it every time he comes home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GAHSMOMX3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I literally JUST made this--it's not too bad. I'll happily eat it for most of the week, but I can see where there are a few issues. First, I used more tortillas than was probably called for (I used corn tortillas, by the way). It does border on runny, but with all the extra tortillas they did a good job soaking things up. If you were to use flour tortillas, or just less tortillas in general, definetly cut back on the stock, and at least hold the lid of the rotel in place to drain the can a little bit. Spice-wise, I found it a bit one-note. Extra onions and bell peppers next time, maybe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
very bland. too soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Hockley, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole

See how to make a cheesy chicken and corn tortilla casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States