King Ranch Chicken Casserole III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Great dish just need to reduce the chicken broth. Was too soupy with 2 coups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deshler, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
This has been a family favorite since the 70's. We use more chili pepper and put all corn tortillas on the bottom, then the chicken, then the sauce and top with cheese. I also saute the onion and bell pepper with garlic then add it to the sauce. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Not as tasty as I had hoped. The tortillas got all mushy and I don't think the flavor was spicy at all. It wasn't bad, we ate it - it just wasn't all that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
We had some freezing temperatures today, and I felt like some comfort food when I found this recipe. My husband was not thrilled about the idea of king ranch chicken for dinner, and my daughter was even less interested, but I made it anyway. Surprisingly enough, my husband had two HUGE servings, and I got a "thumbs up" from the girls. Looks like this one will stay in the recipe box. I did not mix the broth with the soup for a thicker consistency and I added more chili powder. As for the corn tortillas, I did drench them in the broth for a couple of seconds just to soften them up prior to placing them in the pan. Yummmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Easy and satisfying. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by parsonsperson

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I made homemade corn tortillas today and later went searching for what to make for dinner. I decided to try this recipe and we were not disappointed. It was very cheesy (love that) and had a lot of nice flavor. I tossed the onion in with the chicken when it was almost cooked through. I am not fond of raw onion so this slight change pleased my family. We will definitely have this again. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CGG

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Folowed advice of other reviewers and only used on e cup of broth. This as a good recipe but we did not like the corn tortillas. Wil def try again Maybe use flour tortillas? The sauce was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jay Jay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
This recipe was great! I did sautee the bell pepper and onion before layering the ingredients. I also used a can of broth which is 1 3/4 c and the consistancy was perfect. Also to reduce fat I used 98% fat free soups and reduced fat cheese. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Delicious and simple. i followed a combination of the suggestions made, but it was a tasty recipe to begin with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I wasn't really sure what to expect from this casserole, but, thought I would give it a try. If you are a fan of King Ranch Chicken I am sure this recipe is wonderful. For us though - we didn't like the texture of the corn tortillas in the recipe and it really had that "canned soup" flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole

See how to make a cheesy chicken and corn tortilla casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States