King Ranch Chicken Casserole III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Excellent recipe with great flavor. I have to admit I'm a Texas girl that's never really liked King Ranch Chicken. It was a little time consuming but well worth it! I added just a pinch of cayenne pepper to give a little kick but no other changes. It was super yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
4 stars as written. I adjusted to our tastes-- no broth. Sub sour cream, about a cup, instead. 1 sm can tomatoes with chilies, 1 16oz can diced tomatoes. The liquid from the tomatoes made the mixture thin enough without the broth. Skipped the pepper, used more onion and my homemade Mexican seasoning. Layered in the cast iron skillet I cooked the chicken in--oh and used cojack cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
What a great dish for a big family! Lot's of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
This is very soupy.......I don't care at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yadayada Yanyan
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I love this recipe just as written. I use the broth from cooking the chicken breasts and finely dice the onion and pepper to hide them from my daughter. A keeper in our family! Thank you so much for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I love this recipe. My only changes are to reduce the chicken broth to 1 cup and I also dip the corn tortillas in the broth. I also cook the onions and bell peppers in a skillet before mixing it with shredded chicken. Great recipe, it is even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daydreams123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
The recipe, as it is, is good, but I added paprika, taco dip mix, and used a bag of frozen fajita mix vegetables instead of the chopped onion and bell pepper. I sautéed the veggies with some chicken stock and cilantro. It added another layer of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
This is the same recipte I got on a wooden postcard while visiting the King Ranch several years ago. I don't like mushrooms so I substitute cream of celery for the cream of mushroom soup. Other than that I following the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA
Living In: Pipe Creek, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
This is a easy recipe and I will use it again, but I will add a hotter version on the diced tomatoes and green chile pepper. I loved putting in the raw onions and green peppers, but my husband did not. So I might saute them some before I put them in the recipe. The recipe was a little soupy but the next day it was better. So if you eat it right away you might want to decrease the chicken broth to a cup. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly, except I halved it & I omitted the garlic salt entirely. I didn't have a problem with the casserole being too soupy or too soggy. It looked great. My problem was that it was so salty neither my husband or I could eat more than a few bites. Since no one else here seems to have had that particular complaint, I wonder if the chicken broth I used was abnormally salty. There would have been enough leftovers for another meal, but we ended up throwing them away since we couldn't eat it the first time. I would like to try making it again, but I will use salt-free or salt-reduced ingredient next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Waterfoot, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

King Ranch Chicken Casserole

See how to make a cheesy chicken and corn tortilla casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States