King Ranch Chicken Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Very good recipe but, I've found that if you add 1/4 cup Velveeta cheese, the consistency is much better by not sticking together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I've been using a different version of this for years, but decided to try this one. MUCH better and a bunch easier to prepare. The only thing I would recommend is increasing the cook time or temp as mine wasn't terribly hot. I followed the recipe exactly and added a little cilantro for presentation and for another dimension of flavor. I served it with the Mexican Rice recipe, also from this site. BRAVO!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hot Springs Village, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
i followed the recipe exactly. it was ok. i wouldn't make it again. too cheesy and the chips should be layered twice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This recipe was just okay. I don't think the baking temp or time is quite right. I left it in the oven for an additional 15 minutes and it still was not hot. Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
This was a good BASE recipe. Waaay too much onion, and I very thinly sliced them, and they were still way too strong. I'll do what other reviewers said and cook the onions first, but I'll probably only use about half the onion next time. A good change to this recipe would be instead of the chips on the bottom, use Knorr Rice sides, Mexican rice(pre-cooked) and then layer it the same way, but also using sliced FRESH mushrooms mixed in with the sauce. YUM! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
I added a few ingredients which I thought gave it a rating of 4 out of 5 stars. I added two fresh diced tomatoes, about 1/2 a bunch of fresh chopped cilantro, and 4 sliced green onions. I chopped up whole wheat tortillas instead of tortilla chips and mixed all ingredients together before baking. Delicious as main dish or would be good wrapped in tortillas with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
this casserole was delish!! i used a cream o' chicken and a cream o' onion because i t was what i had. and i sauteed the onion a bit so it wasn't so strong. i added black olives and on our plates i dolloped sour cream as suggested. great meal my bf and i finished off the whole thing. yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
I halved the recipe to use up the leftover pressure cooked chicken. Used 1 can low fat cream of chicken soup and the "hot" RoTel tomatoes with green chile peppers. Next time I make this, I will keep the chips separate so they don't get soggy for any left overs. Topped mine with fat free sour cream. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Very good. Everyone loved it. Next time I'll use flour tortilla shells instead of chips and cut the amount of onions and make them very small because they tend to stay very raw. Other than that, it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
This is a really good recipe. I grew up with my Gran's King Ranch Chicken that had tortillas in it. I made this one as directed, and the chips were SO good in it. I had a bag of thicker tortilla chips, and they held up well in the casserole w/o getting mushy. They also added a little salty kick that regular tortillas miss. I'll definitely be making it this way from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole

See how to make a cheesy chicken and corn tortilla casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States