King Ranch Chicken Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Great base recipe although I did make some changes. After reading some of the other reviews, I added 1 cup of chicken broth to the soup mixture, used a can of Mexican Rotel which gave it a tiny spicy kick, and seasoned the mixture with cumin, onion powder (I didn't use chopped onion), garlic powder, and pepper. I did not follow the layering directions, by accident, and subsequently only used about half the tortilla chips the recipe called for. I layered chips, cubed rotisserie chicken, soup mixture and only used 2 cups of Mexican blend cheese. After 30 mins in the oven, the cheese wasn't fully melted so I turned the temp up to 350 for another 10 mins. That did the trick and it was delicious. My father-in-law who is not a fan of chicken had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Great recipe! I have been trying to bulk up my recipe repertoire and this is definitely going in the keeper pile. I made a couple of changes - omitted onions as my husband is not a fan (I love them! so if he is not eating, I will definitely put them in). Added some red and yellow peppers, and used a chunky salsa instead of the can of diced tomatoes. I didn't put the chips on the bottom, but topped with corn chips when it came out of the oven. I might add a bit more spice next time. Served over a bed of rice. Great winter meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I used leftover turkey to make this recipe. I was so extremely tired of eating turkey, this recipe disguised it really well. It was more like a nacho recipe vs. a casserole and I think I would have preferred nachos for dinner. The baking time and temps are off. I baked as directed and the casserole was not very warm and the onions were still raw. Even after cooking at a higher temp and longer period of time, I had to use the broiler to melt the cheese and get everything hot and bubbly but the onions were still raw. This recipe needs improvement IMO. Start by omitting the onions and layering the chips and wet mixture twice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I put a little bit of a twist on this one. I skipped the mushroom soup and added rice and garlic. It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kirkwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I followed another reviewer's advice and bought a pack of corn tortiilas. I fried some of them in a little oil. I sauteed the onion along with about six minced galrlic cloves. I then added sour cream, the soups, cooked chicken, and Rotel. The following went into the baking dish in this order: layer of tortillas, half the soup mixture, cheese, layer of tortillas, rest of soup mixture, cheese. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STLINARES1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I thought this was pretty good...wish it was a little healthier, and had a bit more of a kick, but we still really enjoyed it. I layered the tortilla chips on the bottom of the dish and then mixed the cans of soup, rotel, part of the shredded cheese, and the chicken together and poured it on top of the chips. I then topped with some crumbled chips and the rest of the cheese. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Compared to other King Ranch Chicken recipes, this one was REALLY bland. If you make it spice it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jboscamp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Awesome game food!!! I used cream of celery instead of mushroom. I also added black olives and layers everything twice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany Owens

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Either I did not read the directions carefully or this is just a bad recipe...it was dry and very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This recipe is easy and very forgiving, dosen't need to be followed to a T, leftover chicken works great in this recip. So yumm and great for a fast weeknight meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pomona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 326) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

King Ranch Chicken Casserole

See how to make a cheesy chicken and corn tortilla casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States