King Ranch Chicken Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
This was really good. I was impressed when my very picky 3-year old took one bite and said "YUM!" I substituted tortilla strips for the chips and spiced the soup mixture with garlic powder, chili powder and ground oregano. I also sautéed the onion with minced garlic and added to soup mixture. I started the layers with the strips, then chicken, soup mixture and cheese - I was able to do that twice. This will definitely get a place in our permanent rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
This is a great chicken casserole recipe. I did substitute sour cream for the mushroom soup & I thought the chips got too soggy the first time I made it so since then I have baked it without the chips & then served the chips on the side
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
My husband LOVES this. It isn't a fancy dish, but an easy and satisfying comfort dish. As other reviewers have commented, substitute the cream of mushroom for cream of celery. Heat the soups and Ro-tel on the stove first, it blends the flavors. Use cut up corn tortillas instead of chips. Use a store bought rotisserie chicken. Fast and delicious. I serve it with corn bread. I bake mine covered at 325 for 20 minutes, top with cheese, bake uncovered another 15 minutes or so until bubbly and cheese is melted. Add a dollop of sour cream when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Great recipe. No Rotel. I used roasted "Hatch" Chilies from New Mexico. It's the season and they are everywhere in Houston, Tx. They are not HOT HOT but have a great flavor. Boiled chicken, baked at 300 for 45 minutes. No onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
It was ok. After also adding a can of corn I barely had enough filling to complete two layers. The filling was ok, but I thought it was a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
20 minutes isn't long enough to heat the casserole through. The corn chips made it salty...I will use corn tortillas next time I make this...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
My husband loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D_GOODEN
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
This was really good, but I used taco flavored chips and that added just the right amount of spice. Served with alvocado slices and tossed salad. It was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
I don't like to use corn chips, I prefer use corn tortillas. I cubed the chicken and cooked it in butter, chopped green onion, and chopped red bell pepper before adding to the dish per the other reviews. I also added 4 oz. of sour cream to the mix before cooking. I also add 2 tsp. of chile powder and 1 tsp. cumin. It really gives it that Texas twang! Super Easy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
This recipe was tasty, but very different from other King Ranch Chicken dishes I've had. This was more "chicken nachos" than casserole. I might make it again as a party dip or appetizer, but leave the chips out while baking and just serve them on the side. Mushy chips don't appeal to me, and it makes for really bad leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 327) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

King Ranch Chicken Casserole

See how to make a cheesy chicken and corn tortilla casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States