King Ranch Chicken Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This was like restaurant food. I loved it and so did my husband. I omitted the cream of mushroom soup and I used extra tomatoes, peppers, and I used corn tortillas instead of tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slewis0054

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
This was not good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenjen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
It was just ok. It got soggy and not a great left over but makes a ton of food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quinton, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Foodie Family
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
this was yummy.... i added about 1/2 cup of sour cream to the chicken/soup mix and assembled like lasagna....so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I would have given this 3 1/2 but it wasn't an option. I waited until I made it a second time to rate it. The first time I followed the recipe exactly and it was just ok, nothing special. This time, I spiced up the chicken a bit while boiling then diced it in small chunks. I also used cream of celery soup instead of cream of mushroom. I used a 14.5 oz can of rotel (my husband would have been happier with more for more spice). I mixed the onion ( 1/2 onion was plenty), soups, rotel and chicken together. Spread a little of this mixture on the bottom of the pan before layering chips. Then I made two of each layers....chips, mixture, cheese, chips, mixture, cheese...It turned out much better this time. I will mention, the last time I made it as the recipe states, I had a lot of real hard spots (the chips that didnt absorb any moisture), so that is why I layered it more this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This is very good for what it is. I layered it as suggested in the recipe and had a little trouble with some of the tortillas at the bottom staying dry and crunchy. A highly processed meal, but tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
We really enjoyed this and will, for sure, make again. Per many reviews I used homemade tortillas and just tore them apart and layered on bottom of the pan and again on the top of the Rotel/soup mix over the chicken. I omitted the onion per personal taste and used BLSL chicken breast diced up and cooked in some olive oil/garlic before assembling. I don't tihnk the cooking temp/time was right for my oven so next time will bake at 350 for at least 20 mintues. We served w/ rice and will put this in our dinner rotation when I need something quick, easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I LOVE this recipe! I take all the ingredients and mix them together except the tortillas and cheese. Then I layer the tortillas first, the mixture, then the cheese. I add another layer of tortillas, mixture, and cheese. It's kind of like a "King Ranch-Lasagna". Sometimes I use hot Rotel. Soooo yummy! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puzzle Pieces

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Great base recipe although I did make some changes. After reading some of the other reviews, I added 1 cup of chicken broth to the soup mixture, used a can of Mexican Rotel which gave it a tiny spicy kick, and seasoned the mixture with cumin, onion powder (I didn't use chopped onion), garlic powder, and pepper. I did not follow the layering directions, by accident, and subsequently only used about half the tortilla chips the recipe called for. I layered chips, cubed rotisserie chicken, soup mixture and only used 2 cups of Mexican blend cheese. After 30 mins in the oven, the cheese wasn't fully melted so I turned the temp up to 350 for another 10 mins. That did the trick and it was delicious. My father-in-law who is not a fan of chicken had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Great recipe! I have been trying to bulk up my recipe repertoire and this is definitely going in the keeper pile. I made a couple of changes - omitted onions as my husband is not a fan (I love them! so if he is not eating, I will definitely put them in). Added some red and yellow peppers, and used a chunky salsa instead of the can of diced tomatoes. I didn't put the chips on the bottom, but topped with corn chips when it came out of the oven. I might add a bit more spice next time. Served over a bed of rice. Great winter meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 334) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole

See how to make a cheesy chicken and corn tortilla casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States