King Crab Appetizers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2000
I used the small phillo cups you can buy at the store in the frozen food section instead. They were really good and could be served bite size. The recipe made enough for 30 little cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
304 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
You don't need tartlet pans to make these. Just use flaky biscuits, which halve easily. Split and flatten each half. Fill with the crab mixture, then fold up so that it forms a cup. Line on a greased cookie sheet and you're ready to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2001
Made this recipe for Thanksgiving appetizers. A big hit! Delicious filling! But I rolled out Pillsbury refrigerated crescent roll dough, then cut small circles and lined them in the cups of a tartlet muffin pan, then filled them and sprinkled paprika on top. The dough really puffs up nicely and made them tasty. They were sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
Thank You Catherine for such a great recipe. Have now made these twice for both formal and informal gatherings. Considering I find this "review" section as a most helpful and valuible tool to "tweak" the recipes I find on this site I hate to be repetitive. But, I also chose to use to "ready made" store bought phyllo cups. Saves much time and $$ if you do not already have tartlet pans. I have found this recipe is best served hot but is also quite good served at room temp. Have not yet found any reason to variate from the original recipe as well as if you choose to use the store bought phyllo cups, once prepared, the individual plastic moldings they come in make for perfect transporation to serve an elegant app that appears time consumming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
I served these appetizers for my Hawaiian Swim Party. I MADE CHANGES: I used Puff Pastry Shells by Pepperidge Farm. I cooked the puff pastry on a cookie sheet until golden brown. I let them cool 5 minutes on a wire rack, and then I added two teaspoons of the crab mixture on top. I'm now the best cook my friends ever met. Note: Add two 6 oz. cans of crab meat for more crab flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2003
These were very good and easy - I used the premade phyllo cups as well which not only cut down the work time but also made them look very attractive. I used real crab meat out of the shell, not even the canned stuff, and that was a dumb mistake. You don't even need to use canned crab - use imitation crab and chop it up small. You cannot taste the crab over the cream cheese and cheddar cheese, so it's mainly there for texture. I could have saved myself some dollars if I had used imitation, and you wouldn't have been able to tell the difference. I will definitely be making these again (they were a hit at the party) but with cheaper ingrediants!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RDZELLMER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2005
Easy, tasty, attractive...could you ask for more? Yep!! Most ingredients you will have on hand.I added a bit of horseradish and a few lemon juice squirts. If you use the phyllo cups you can leave them in their individual plastic molds to freeze or to transport! You have enough mixture for 30 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
I made these for a cocktail party last weekend and they were received raved reviews. I used the mini phyllo dough cups as some other reviewers suggested and them came out perfectly. I omitted the green onion and added minced onion in lieu, they turned out perfectly! Not only did they tasted like they were from a gourmet caterer, but they looked really great too! Thanks for a wonderful receipe! This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
I made these for my boyfriend for Valentine's Day and were they ever a hit! After eating only one, he commented that I should make them everyday. They were very delicious and very easy as well. I used phyllo cups and halved the recipe and they turned out great. The phyllo cups turn out nice and crispy and saves a step. I also dipped mine in cocktail sauce - an added bonus. This one will be a staple in my appetizer collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2002
These were really good. I used fresh crabmeat and I also used the phyllo cups which made this a very easy recipe. My brood loves lemon so I squeezed fresh lemon juice over the tarts after they were done baking. Very good recipe, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOLFANCHICK1027

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tarpon Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States