King Crab Appetizers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Flavorless. Needs something to make it special. If I try it again, I will try the phylo cups. The biscuits were not so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I first tried this over Thanksgiving, and have made them several times since! (And it's only been a month!) Everyone loves them! Like others, I purchased the already-prepared phillo cups. That helps a lot and makes for a pretty presentation. I used canned crab meat & low fat cream cheese the first time, but switched to sushi-type imitation crab sticks and full fat cream cheese. I hate to go that way but they were WAY more flavorful! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
These were very good! I used frozen phyllo cups instead of the biscuit dough. I tripled the recipe because I used a big can of "fresh" crab from the seafood department. I made them a week before, put them back in the phyllo cup tray, wrapped with saran and froze. I just popped them in the oven, frozen, and baked about 25 minutes. I also made some with a spinach filling and alternated them on the serving plate for a nice presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Delish and really easy! will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I made this recipe w/ mini phyllo tarts, which were lighter and brought out the crab flavor more so than the dough flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smonfils

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I'm not sure if this is a review or just thanks for the idea - because I had to substitute such a lot. I started to make it, and realised my cream cheese had gone bad :( so I used mozzarella instead. Had no green onions, so I used onion powder and minced garlic, and added cayenne for zing. Added salt because the crab seemed saltless. BUT the end result was an absolute wow as an appetiser for dinner guests, and the leftover mix I ate all myself on crackers for lunch today. Almost better that way! Will definitely make again trying other things, like maybe following the recipe a bit more closely LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: 100 Mile House, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
these were delicious!! didn't change a thing and they tasted so good. i used a mini muffin pan and used probably more crab than it calls for. def a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Loved it! Big smash at our open house and so easy. I tried pre-made biscuit dough and crescent rolls. The biscuit dough was too doughy, but bring on the crescent dough. More than fantastic. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
These are a keeper! I used mini Grands flaky biscuits, torn in half and pressed into 18 regular cupcake tins. I used krab (fake crab) and it was very flavorful made as written. I liked the hint of the Worcestershire sauce and the creamy cream cheese. Even my picky hubs liked this.. I'll make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I made these VERY last minute (as in, I decided to make these when I had just 5 minutes to make and get out the door...) So I skipped the tartlet/baking and simply served the filling with gourmet crackers. That 5 minutes sure paid off! I skipped the Parm, simply because I didn't have the time to putz with grating it, but everything else was pretty spot on (didn't measure). The flavors all blended perfectly together - I may have added about 1.5x the crab called for next time, just so I could enjoy even more crab flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States