King Cake in a Bread Machine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
I baked two King Cakes for Mardi Gras this year. One was from this recipe. People thought they were from a bakery (first plus), but people absolutely raved about this one. One coworker told me this was the best cake she had ever eaten. I will definitely make this again. It's so convenient, too, to be able to make the dough in a bread machine. Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Living near New Orleans and having access to so many bakeries with King Cake, I have to say this just isn't quite right. I would cut the icing in half to begin with. There was too much, making the cake too sweet. But something was missing in the cake flavor itself. While my daughter did like it better than the local grocery store's King Cake and my family did eat it without any problem, I'll look elsewhere for that "great" King Cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coatesville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Covington, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This was my first time using a bread machine and the result was fantastic! I doubled the amount of filling and substituted brown sugar instead of white sugar (for the filling only), but other than that, I followed the recipe exactly and it came out fabulously!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pushbuttonkitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Creede, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathie Brundege
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
OK, while I must agree with reviewers who detest people who rate after totally changing a recipe I do understand the reasons folks do this. You may follow most of a recipe, but want to share your own adaptions. That being said... This recipe is to die for!! I made the dough as written, with the exception of 1 tsp nutmeg added. It is flexible and a dream to work with. Rises beautifully. I wanted to use both the cinnamon filling as listed and the cream cheese filling of the "King Cake" also on this site, so that is what I did. (8oz softened cream cheese, 1/2 c gran. sugar and 1/4 c 10X sugar)....blended this and spread first. Then followed directions for the cinnamon sugar filling from this recipe (doubling it) And I added 1 cup chopped pecans. I placed a greased bowl in center of my circle to hold the shape, definitely needed to as cake rose spectacularly and would have been solid. I made my own frosting/glaze and used the traditional Mardi Gras colors of decorating sugars. The cake is sweet, moist and delightful! Both fillings are Not a necessity...but a decadent treat! I am adding 5 photos of the stages of building this cake! Definitely will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathie Brundege

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Victor, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I brought this to a Carnival brunch today and it was a big hit! This recipe was so easy and tasted great! The only changes I made were to the filling. I mixed 8 oz of cream cheese with 1/2 c. of brown sugar, and it turned out really well. Powdered sugar would probably be great too, but I didn't have enough after making the glaze. Any type of fruit pie filling or chocolate is also really good. For the glaze on top of the cake, I added another 1/2 cup of powdered sugar to make it really thick so it wouldn't all run off the cake and pool up on the sides. Overall, I'd say this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
PERFECT! This was so fun and easy to make, that I can't believe that I waited this long to try it. The only thing I did differently was to double the filling (I like LOTS) and use brown sugar in the filling instead of white (I was running low). The dough was a dream to work with...it rolled out beautifully. This smelled amazing while baking and tasted even better. This will be a new yearly tradition for us! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Made it for a Mardi Gras Parade party. Got excellent and delicious comments from all attendees who ate a piece. Followed the pasrty directions as written. My filling was different. Did 8 ounces softened cream cheese, 1/2 cup confectioners sugar and 1/2 cup chopped pecans. Mixed all well together and placed it as the king cake filling. Still good the day after too!!! This is my first king cake and it was easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Minden, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Daschie
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
I have made this cake twice so far. Everyone I have shared it with, absolutely loved it. Some even thought it was better than a bakery King Cake. Making another one tonight, can't wait! Thank you for such an easy and delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daschie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brusly, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
OUTSTANDING! I wish I could give it more than 5 stars!! I had never made a King cake before. This was so easy using the bread machine. I was amazed at the ease of handling the dough once it was done. I replaced the chopped pecans with raisins I had plumped and doubled the filling mixture. I baked it on a pizza pan so it would be nice and round. I was afraid I didn't butter the pan enough but it slid right off onto the cooling rack which I covered with parchment paper so I could drizzle the icing and sugar without too much mess. It was so easy to make but the taste was OUTSTANDING! I told Hubby I will have to make this every year and he informed me that I can make it all year long, he doesn't want to wait a year. Thank you Suzzanna for sharing another OUTSTANDING recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Good base recipe. Very easy. However, I agree, it was missing something. Next time I'll add 1-teaspoon nutmeg and 1 t-teaspoon lemon zest to the batter when making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States