King Cake in a Bread Machine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Good base recipe. Very easy. However, I agree, it was missing something. Next time I'll add 1-teaspoon nutmeg and 1 t-teaspoon lemon zest to the batter when making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
This recipe was flawless for me!!! It came out so beautiful; rose up just perfectly in the bread machine and the dough was wonderful to work with. Thanks for a super-festive and tasty recipe that my whole family loved. (I've had king cake in the past and this was the yummiest I've ever tried!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Easy Receipe to follow. Would have given it 5 stars but I think the baking time should be increased. I guess depending on your oven, but I increased time to 25 min and also doubled filling like others did. But I will make again and try other fillings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Made this today for Mardi Gras and it was excellent! The only change I made was to the filling in which I used 8 oz softened cream cheese, 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1 tsp cinnamon. I cooked at 350 for 25-30 minutes as several people said theirs was doughy in the middle. It came out perfect. Everyone LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by calfiremonkey
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Love love love this recipe. It's hard to find a King Cake where I live, especially one that's any good so I was thrilled when I came across this one last night. I decreased the amount of sourcream by about 1/4 of a cup. I increased the amount of butter that you brush the inside with before you add your filling. I also added brown sugar to the white sugar and cinnamon mixture to make it more like a cinnamon roll. I used to make hundreds of King Cakes when I worked in a bakery in Mississippi and I actually prefer this recipe over the one we used! So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calfiremonkey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I made this cake for the first time last night. I brushed the dough with 1 beaten egg mixed with 1 T of water before baking, like I do my hot cross buns. One receipe said to bake it for30 minutes, this one said 15 min., so I left it in for 20. I think it was a little doughy, so next time I will bake longer and maybe stick to the filling as suggested in the recipe. I followed others' advice and did the cream cheese/brown sugar/cinnamon/pecan filling and thought it was too sweet, especially with the icing on top. So next time I will do without cream cheese in the filling and bake longer. The bread machine made this very easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Wonderful! The dough was so easy to put together and quick & easy to roll out. Absolutely delicious tasting! I followed others recommendations to double the filling and use brown rather than white sugar. I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Very easy dough to work with and quite yummy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
This is the easiest, most wonderful tasting sweet bread "cake" I have made. Putting everything in the bread machine and letting it do all the work could not have been better. Baked on a stone in the oven was the finishing touch. I won't wait for Lundi Gras to make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathie Brundege
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
OK, while I must agree with reviewers who detest people who rate after totally changing a recipe I do understand the reasons folks do this. You may follow most of a recipe, but want to share your own adaptions. That being said... This recipe is to die for!! I made the dough as written, with the exception of 1 tsp nutmeg added. It is flexible and a dream to work with. Rises beautifully. I wanted to use both the cinnamon filling as listed and the cream cheese filling of the "King Cake" also on this site, so that is what I did. (8oz softened cream cheese, 1/2 c gran. sugar and 1/4 c 10X sugar)....blended this and spread first. Then followed directions for the cinnamon sugar filling from this recipe (doubling it) And I added 1 cup chopped pecans. I placed a greased bowl in center of my circle to hold the shape, definitely needed to as cake rose spectacularly and would have been solid. I made my own frosting/glaze and used the traditional Mardi Gras colors of decorating sugars. The cake is sweet, moist and delightful! Both fillings are Not a necessity...but a decadent treat! I am adding 5 photos of the stages of building this cake! Definitely will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathie Brundege

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Victor, New York, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States