King Cake in a Bread Machine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Great recipe! I am from New Orleans but have lived overseas for the last 9 years and around Mardi Gras time I always get homesick. I make a King Cake every Kings Day, using my breadmaker, and this one is by far the best. I have made it twice in the past two days. I did do a couple things different. The first time I made it, I accidentally put the pecans in with the filling mix and then spread the entire thing on the dough instead of only spreading the butter/sugar mix and then adding pecans. It was a bit harder to spread and I ended up having to double the butter, but the result was great. The filling tasted like a slightly crunchy praline filling. Definitely worth a try. The second time I made it, I doubled the filling mix and then spread the butter/sugar mix over the dough and then sprinkled on the pecans. The pecans baked up softer this time. Both ways are excellent, it depends on your mood. The measurements were spot on for me, with the exception of doubling the filling. The only difference I had is that I found I needed to bake the cake for about 40 minutes both times, it might just be my oven though. Either way, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
GREAT cake. Easy to make and delicious! However, it does take several hours to make but it is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bryan David Landry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
PERFECT. Capital EVERY LETTER. I was first introduced to King Cake at my "Harvard of the South" university, and have spent years trying to find a decent substitute. I need look no further - this is it! I double the filling because my family LOVES it super cinnamon-y, but that is ALL I would ever change about this recipe. This dough has NEVER failed on me, it alway rises beautifully and has a very light, soft crumb. Thank you from the bottom of my heart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
This was great! Very similar to king cake from New Orleans that I have had! Got rave reviews from others who also "know" what a king cake is typically like. Dough was super easy to work with and roll. Rose well, bake time of 15 min was spot on. Minor changes were I used Greek yogurt because I didn't have sour cream, and I also whipped additional cream cheese, sugar, and cinnamon filling to go with the filling printed here in this recipe because I like both fillings. Tasty, light, authentic. People loved it and I am proud of my first king cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Made this cake for our MardiGra party at cc class at church today. What a great cake it was......I think it was the only dessert that was completely gone! I don't have a bread machine..(so I converted it ).but like the recipe, so I made the cake using my mixer, I followed the directions for the Yeast Mixture, Let it sit while I mixed all the wet ingredients in my mixer, then added the yeast mixture to that and added the dry ingredients and mixed it with the hook beater. Came out beautiful and easy. I used a cheese filling ,(I googled "Cream cheese filling recipe" and a site came up for Entenmann's copycat recipes" The cheese filling from that site was creamy and tasted just like the the filling in Entenmann's Crumbcake/strudle it was perfect for this King cake. All the other filling recipes had flour added....yuck. I also rolled out the dough into a 8x30 " rectangle...Filled it,.. .make sure you seal it ...then rolled it jelly roll style , sealed it with water, shaped it into a circle ... this way you have cheese filling in every bite. Thank you for this wonderful, Incrediable and "OH, So Good"" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Oh my goodness!! This cake is divine!! I made it for Fat Tuesday and my husband, children, and I all loved it!! I made it exactly as directed, but had to cook mine about 25 minutes to get it done. Next time I will omit the nuts (I only put them on half this time and we all agreed the side without was our favorite). Also, I will double the cinnamon/sugar in the middle just because a couple of bites were without. But this is a definite keeper! Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
This was my first try at a King Cake, I was a bit intimidated but I agreed to make it for a party later tonight. It was amazingly easy and delicious. So now, having gobbled my first cake, I plan to turn out another for the party. Well, I did have to taste-test the first one!! Only change I'd make is adding more filling and baking more slowly. .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
awesome brilliant delicous will be making again...tomorrow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Great Recipe! I have never had King cake before and don't have success with yeast breads and cakes (my kitchen must be cold). I tried this recipe hoping the bread maker would increase my chance of success. I made it exactly according to the recipe and it was delicious. The dough did not rise to twice the size even with an added space heater in my kitchen. It still turned out fantastic. My husband has had King cake before and was very impressed with this recipe. Like other reviewers, next time I will add more filling and play around with other filling ingredients. Don't just wait for Mardi Gras. This is a great cake anytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Daschie
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
I have made this cake twice so far. Everyone I have shared it with, absolutely loved it. Some even thought it was better than a bakery King Cake. Making another one tonight, can't wait! Thank you for such an easy and delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daschie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brusly, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States