King Cake in a Bread Machine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I didn't have any nuts on hand, so I omitted those and it still turned out great. The family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This was my first time using a bread machine and the result was fantastic! I doubled the amount of filling and substituted brown sugar instead of white sugar (for the filling only), but other than that, I followed the recipe exactly and it came out fabulously!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pushbuttonkitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Creede, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I brought this to a Carnival brunch today and it was a big hit! This recipe was so easy and tasted great! The only changes I made were to the filling. I mixed 8 oz of cream cheese with 1/2 c. of brown sugar, and it turned out really well. Powdered sugar would probably be great too, but I didn't have enough after making the glaze. Any type of fruit pie filling or chocolate is also really good. For the glaze on top of the cake, I added another 1/2 cup of powdered sugar to make it really thick so it wouldn't all run off the cake and pool up on the sides. Overall, I'd say this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
AMAZING! Moist and delicious. I'd give it the same rating even without the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EndoMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
I baked two King Cakes for Mardi Gras this year. One was from this recipe. People thought they were from a bakery (first plus), but people absolutely raved about this one. One coworker told me this was the best cake she had ever eaten. I will definitely make this again. It's so convenient, too, to be able to make the dough in a bread machine. Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
yummy even ate next morning for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmy schmidt
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I made monkey bread using this recipe. It was the best ever. Exactly the dough I was looking for, light moist and wonderfully tasty. Added a little cinnamon to the dough and then just made monkey bread as usual. I am going to try it for cinnamon rolls also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
So simple but has great flavor and texture. I do not recommend cream cheese or fruit filling because I think it affects the texture a bit. Lovely dough and very easy to work with. Mine took an extra ten minutes in the oven but maybe that's because i used wetter fillings which i will not do again. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
quick and easy king cake recipe that tastes good-substituted brown sugar for filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This is so good I may double the filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States