King Cake in a Bread Machine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
PERFECT! This was so fun and easy to make, that I can't believe that I waited this long to try it. The only thing I did differently was to double the filling (I like LOTS) and use brown sugar in the filling instead of white (I was running low). The dough was a dream to work with...it rolled out beautifully. This smelled amazing while baking and tasted even better. This will be a new yearly tradition for us! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Made it for a Mardi Gras Parade party. Got excellent and delicious comments from all attendees who ate a piece. Followed the pasrty directions as written. My filling was different. Did 8 ounces softened cream cheese, 1/2 cup confectioners sugar and 1/2 cup chopped pecans. Mixed all well together and placed it as the king cake filling. Still good the day after too!!! This is my first king cake and it was easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Minden, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by T Lynn
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Turned out great! The dough was really easy to work with. I will use a little less sour cream or a little extra sugar next time. The dough was a little too sour for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Living near New Orleans and having access to so many bakeries with King Cake, I have to say this just isn't quite right. I would cut the icing in half to begin with. There was too much, making the cake too sweet. But something was missing in the cake flavor itself. While my daughter did like it better than the local grocery store's King Cake and my family did eat it without any problem, I'll look elsewhere for that "great" King Cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coatesville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Covington, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This is so good I may double the filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
quick and easy king cake recipe that tastes good-substituted brown sugar for filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
So simple but has great flavor and texture. I do not recommend cream cheese or fruit filling because I think it affects the texture a bit. Lovely dough and very easy to work with. Mine took an extra ten minutes in the oven but maybe that's because i used wetter fillings which i will not do again. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I made monkey bread using this recipe. It was the best ever. Exactly the dough I was looking for, light moist and wonderfully tasty. Added a little cinnamon to the dough and then just made monkey bread as usual. I am going to try it for cinnamon rolls also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
yummy even ate next morning for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmy schmidt
Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
I baked two King Cakes for Mardi Gras this year. One was from this recipe. People thought they were from a bakery (first plus), but people absolutely raved about this one. One coworker told me this was the best cake she had ever eaten. I will definitely make this again. It's so convenient, too, to be able to make the dough in a bread machine. Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States