King Cake in a Bread Machine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Kathie Brundege
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
OK, while I must agree with reviewers who detest people who rate after totally changing a recipe I do understand the reasons folks do this. You may follow most of a recipe, but want to share your own adaptions. That being said... This recipe is to die for!! I made the dough as written, with the exception of 1 tsp nutmeg added. It is flexible and a dream to work with. Rises beautifully. I wanted to use both the cinnamon filling as listed and the cream cheese filling of the "King Cake" also on this site, so that is what I did. (8oz softened cream cheese, 1/2 c gran. sugar and 1/4 c 10X sugar)....blended this and spread first. Then followed directions for the cinnamon sugar filling from this recipe (doubling it) And I added 1 cup chopped pecans. I placed a greased bowl in center of my circle to hold the shape, definitely needed to as cake rose spectacularly and would have been solid. I made my own frosting/glaze and used the traditional Mardi Gras colors of decorating sugars. The cake is sweet, moist and delightful! Both fillings are Not a necessity...but a decadent treat! I am adding 5 photos of the stages of building this cake! Definitely will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathie Brundege

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Victor, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
This is my family's second year to use this recipe. This year we are raffling 2 off for charity. The recipe is so easy and foolproof. We do like more substantial filling so we use streusel topping (also found on allrecipes.com) inside instead. It makes a pretty presentation when sliced to see all that yummy pecan filling! Our icing uses sweetened condensed milk so it is creamier than the regular powedered sugar and milk version. C'est magnifique!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mission, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shelly Taylor-Giegler
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
First of all, what a GREAT idea! King cake in a bread machine...super easy! I made mine for Samhain, so I did traditional fall colors instead. I also filled mine with apple pie filling. I gave the recipe four stars in spite of a problem, because I didn't follow the recipe exactly and possibly caused the problem I had with it. It was horribly under-baked. The outside looked nice and golden brown but the inside was doughy. I will definitely try this again, baking it at a lower temperature and for longer. I will also come back and give this recipe five stars if it turns out well the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly Taylor-Giegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Love it with Cherry Pie filling instead if the cinnamon and sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joakleyjames

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
My photo of this does not do this recipe justice at all. This is one of my all time favorite cakes! It is like one giant cinnamon roll with gobs of gooey frosting and sugar on top. It's a good thing I only plan on making this once a year because I couldn't keep myself from eating it. The only problem (and it didn't keep me away) was that the cake was a little undercooked in the middle. I baked for 17 minutes, and it was golden brown, but the middle was still gooey when I cut into it. Didn't bother me a bit, I actually prefer my cinnamon rolls on the gooey side. My kids loved the striped sugar and except for the two "picture pieces", the rest of the cake was picked and grabbed at and eaten up fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This cake was awesome--so tasty...however, I didn't follow the recipe to the letter. As the norm for me, I sort of made a few twists of my own. First of all, as another reviewer mentioned it was pretty sour, I halved the sour cream and added 1/2 C milk in substitute. I also added 1/2 tsp nutmeg in the dough and did half currants and half raisins in the filling. I also baked it for 25 min because 15 didn't seem long enough and it was great. So definitely not exactly but pretty close and it was so good, I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by I love baking!
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Excellent! Very easy! Pretty much followed recipe exactly. Just used 1/2 Cup brown sugar for filling and left out the butter in icing and also, didn't sprinkle sugar on top. It is like a cinnamon roll. Very yummy! Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I love baking!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Excellent! Easy to make and very delicious! I did double the filling as I didn't think I had enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
PERFECT! This was so fun and easy to make, that I can't believe that I waited this long to try it. The only thing I did differently was to double the filling (I like LOTS) and use brown sugar in the filling instead of white (I was running low). The dough was a dream to work with...it rolled out beautifully. This smelled amazing while baking and tasted even better. This will be a new yearly tradition for us! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Made it for a Mardi Gras Parade party. Got excellent and delicious comments from all attendees who ate a piece. Followed the pasrty directions as written. My filling was different. Did 8 ounces softened cream cheese, 1/2 cup confectioners sugar and 1/2 cup chopped pecans. Mixed all well together and placed it as the king cake filling. Still good the day after too!!! This is my first king cake and it was easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Minden, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States