King Cake in a Bread Machine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I made this for a Mardi Gras pot luck and it was a big hit! Of course, we're all from the northwest part of the country so no one knew if it was an authentic king cake or not. I'm going to use the same recipe to make cinnamon rolls for Sunday breakfast. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Good base recipe. Very easy. However, I agree, it was missing something. Next time I'll add 1-teaspoon nutmeg and 1 t-teaspoon lemon zest to the batter when making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
This recipe was flawless for me!!! It came out so beautiful; rose up just perfectly in the bread machine and the dough was wonderful to work with. Thanks for a super-festive and tasty recipe that my whole family loved. (I've had king cake in the past and this was the yummiest I've ever tried!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Easy Receipe to follow. Would have given it 5 stars but I think the baking time should be increased. I guess depending on your oven, but I increased time to 25 min and also doubled filling like others did. But I will make again and try other fillings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Made this today for Mardi Gras and it was excellent! The only change I made was to the filling in which I used 8 oz softened cream cheese, 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1 tsp cinnamon. I cooked at 350 for 25-30 minutes as several people said theirs was doughy in the middle. It came out perfect. Everyone LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by calfiremonkey
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Love love love this recipe. It's hard to find a King Cake where I live, especially one that's any good so I was thrilled when I came across this one last night. I decreased the amount of sourcream by about 1/4 of a cup. I increased the amount of butter that you brush the inside with before you add your filling. I also added brown sugar to the white sugar and cinnamon mixture to make it more like a cinnamon roll. I used to make hundreds of King Cakes when I worked in a bakery in Mississippi and I actually prefer this recipe over the one we used! So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calfiremonkey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I made this cake for the first time last night. I brushed the dough with 1 beaten egg mixed with 1 T of water before baking, like I do my hot cross buns. One receipe said to bake it for30 minutes, this one said 15 min., so I left it in for 20. I think it was a little doughy, so next time I will bake longer and maybe stick to the filling as suggested in the recipe. I followed others' advice and did the cream cheese/brown sugar/cinnamon/pecan filling and thought it was too sweet, especially with the icing on top. So next time I will do without cream cheese in the filling and bake longer. The bread machine made this very easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Wonderful! The dough was so easy to put together and quick & easy to roll out. Absolutely delicious tasting! I followed others recommendations to double the filling and use brown rather than white sugar. I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Very easy dough to work with and quite yummy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
This is the easiest, most wonderful tasting sweet bread "cake" I have made. Putting everything in the bread machine and letting it do all the work could not have been better. Baked on a stone in the oven was the finishing touch. I won't wait for Lundi Gras to make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States