King Cake in a Bread Machine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Made this cake for our MardiGra party at cc class at church today. What a great cake it was......I think it was the only dessert that was completely gone! I don't have a bread machine..(so I converted it ).but like the recipe, so I made the cake using my mixer, I followed the directions for the Yeast Mixture, Let it sit while I mixed all the wet ingredients in my mixer, then added the yeast mixture to that and added the dry ingredients and mixed it with the hook beater. Came out beautiful and easy. I used a cheese filling ,(I googled "Cream cheese filling recipe" and a site came up for Entenmann's copycat recipes" The cheese filling from that site was creamy and tasted just like the the filling in Entenmann's Crumbcake/strudle it was perfect for this King cake. All the other filling recipes had flour added....yuck. I also rolled out the dough into a 8x30 " rectangle...Filled it,.. .make sure you seal it ...then rolled it jelly roll style , sealed it with water, shaped it into a circle ... this way you have cheese filling in every bite. Thank you for this wonderful, Incrediable and "OH, So Good"" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Oh my goodness!! This cake is divine!! I made it for Fat Tuesday and my husband, children, and I all loved it!! I made it exactly as directed, but had to cook mine about 25 minutes to get it done. Next time I will omit the nuts (I only put them on half this time and we all agreed the side without was our favorite). Also, I will double the cinnamon/sugar in the middle just because a couple of bites were without. But this is a definite keeper! Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
This was my first try at a King Cake, I was a bit intimidated but I agreed to make it for a party later tonight. It was amazingly easy and delicious. So now, having gobbled my first cake, I plan to turn out another for the party. Well, I did have to taste-test the first one!! Only change I'd make is adding more filling and baking more slowly. .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
awesome brilliant delicous will be making again...tomorrow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Great Recipe! I have never had King cake before and don't have success with yeast breads and cakes (my kitchen must be cold). I tried this recipe hoping the bread maker would increase my chance of success. I made it exactly according to the recipe and it was delicious. The dough did not rise to twice the size even with an added space heater in my kitchen. It still turned out fantastic. My husband has had King cake before and was very impressed with this recipe. Like other reviewers, next time I will add more filling and play around with other filling ingredients. Don't just wait for Mardi Gras. This is a great cake anytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Daschie
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
I have made this cake twice so far. Everyone I have shared it with, absolutely loved it. Some even thought it was better than a bakery King Cake. Making another one tonight, can't wait! Thank you for such an easy and delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daschie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brusly, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
OUTSTANDING! I wish I could give it more than 5 stars!! I had never made a King cake before. This was so easy using the bread machine. I was amazed at the ease of handling the dough once it was done. I replaced the chopped pecans with raisins I had plumped and doubled the filling mixture. I baked it on a pizza pan so it would be nice and round. I was afraid I didn't butter the pan enough but it slid right off onto the cooling rack which I covered with parchment paper so I could drizzle the icing and sugar without too much mess. It was so easy to make but the taste was OUTSTANDING! I told Hubby I will have to make this every year and he informed me that I can make it all year long, he doesn't want to wait a year. Thank you Suzzanna for sharing another OUTSTANDING recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I made the recipe exactly as stated and it came out beautifully! It was delicious and the hit of my Mardi Gras party! Everyone was so impressed and all I had to do was dump some ingredients in my machine and then shape it. Easy peazy! My only suggestion for anyone making this cake is to do the glaze in phases so the sugar has a better chance of sticking. I piped about half the Glaze at the beginning and few places were dried by the time I got back to put sugar on it. Once I figured it out, I just did a section at a time and had no problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I made this for a Mardi Gras pot luck and it was a big hit! Of course, we're all from the northwest part of the country so no one knew if it was an authentic king cake or not. I'm going to use the same recipe to make cinnamon rolls for Sunday breakfast. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Good base recipe. Very easy. However, I agree, it was missing something. Next time I'll add 1-teaspoon nutmeg and 1 t-teaspoon lemon zest to the batter when making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States