King Cake in a Bread Machine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
My nephew doesn't care for cake, but loves King Cake. I make this for him for his birthday. Great, simple recipe. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I made with Bread Flour.I think this better texture rather than All Purpose Flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yadayada Yanyan
Photo by Kristina
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Tried this tonight with excellent results! I lived in the New Orleans area for many years and was thinking that there was no way this would taste like the "real deal," but it did! My entire family (used to eating a Gambino's king cake for which I usually pay a fortune to have shipped to NYC!) thought it was delicious. Only thing I did differently was substitute plain greek yogurt for some of the sour cream, simply because I didn't have enough sour cream on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Wow! This is the best yeast dough baked good I have EVER made! I followed the recipe for the dough exactly. I filled half with cinnamon, brown sugar, butter and nuts and the other half with a mixture of cream cheese and powdered sugar, rolled it up, formed a ring, let it rise for an hour and baked it for 20 minutes. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Very moist. Alot better than the dried out ones I have gotten from the supermarket. Using the bread machine to mix the dough makes the preparation very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This was my first attempt at making my own King Cake! I was very impressed by the ease and outcome! I am from New Orleans, but now live in Virginia. I do not want to pay a fortune to have a king cake shipped to me so I asked friends back home for a good recipe...this one was shared and I'm so glad! I used a tad more sugar in the dough than it called for, and I used greek vanilla yogurt instead of sour cream. It was really good. I made it last night and it's already almost gone! And there's only 3 of us in the house! I'll make this again! I think it would be really good with a cream cheese spread inside as well. Oh also, I did not use the nuts in the cinnamon mixture..my hubby is not a fan of nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This bread came out perfectly. I used other reviewers' advice and baked for 25 minutes, reducing heat for last 10 minutes to 350. Also made a chocolate filling with heaping 1/2 cup chocolate chips melted with 2 T butter, and added 1t cinnamon, 1/4 cup brown sugar and 8 oz cream cheese. The only problem I had was the filling gooped out a little in a couple places while baking. I think this may be because I didn't seal the seam carefully. It was my first time making king cake though so I chalk that up to beginner's mistake. Thank you for this wonderful recipe. I am a Virginia native who has lived in Louisiana for the last 15 years. This is a very authentic tasting king cake.. You know it is success when your daughter ( who has lived in Louisiana since she was 2 months old) says "wow Mom-- you made this?"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
It's really just a big cinnamon roll! I doubled filling and used half brown sugar. I omitted pecans. My husband said this cake was awesome. All I will do different next year is instead of using colored sugars I will just divide the icing and use food color (natural brand) because I didn't like all the crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Great recipe! I am from New Orleans but have lived overseas for the last 9 years and around Mardi Gras time I always get homesick. I make a King Cake every Kings Day, using my breadmaker, and this one is by far the best. I have made it twice in the past two days. I did do a couple things different. The first time I made it, I accidentally put the pecans in with the filling mix and then spread the entire thing on the dough instead of only spreading the butter/sugar mix and then adding pecans. It was a bit harder to spread and I ended up having to double the butter, but the result was great. The filling tasted like a slightly crunchy praline filling. Definitely worth a try. The second time I made it, I doubled the filling mix and then spread the butter/sugar mix over the dough and then sprinkled on the pecans. The pecans baked up softer this time. Both ways are excellent, it depends on your mood. The measurements were spot on for me, with the exception of doubling the filling. The only difference I had is that I found I needed to bake the cake for about 40 minutes both times, it might just be my oven though. Either way, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
GREAT cake. Easy to make and delicious! However, it does take several hours to make but it is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States