King Cake in a Bread Machine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Best King Cake dough I've ever made. I used a cinnamon and cream cheese filling. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbie Hyatt McAfee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rison, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bullet
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
the dough for this is flawless and easy. I didn't change anything except the nuts and the technique of shaping it. (I've never seen nuts in king cake unless it was praline filling.) for the shaping, I rolled it out, cut two long strips, and spread the cinnamon paste on one strip, and put cream cheese frosting on the other. rolled each into a tube and pressed them closed, then twisted them together like a braid and joined the ends. I also made my own colored sugar instead of buying it. just add a couple drops of food coloring to white sugar and shake up in a small container. easy! my boyfriend doesn't really like king cake and he was in the kitchen making sex noises over this. hands-down this is the most decadent and delicious king cake I've ever had. Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bullet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by april
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
I make this for my nephew every year!! It's so easy and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I made with Bread Flour.I think this better texture rather than All Purpose Flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yadayada Yanyan
Photo by Kristina
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Tried this tonight with excellent results! I lived in the New Orleans area for many years and was thinking that there was no way this would taste like the "real deal," but it did! My entire family (used to eating a Gambino's king cake for which I usually pay a fortune to have shipped to NYC!) thought it was delicious. Only thing I did differently was substitute plain greek yogurt for some of the sour cream, simply because I didn't have enough sour cream on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Wow! This is the best yeast dough baked good I have EVER made! I followed the recipe for the dough exactly. I filled half with cinnamon, brown sugar, butter and nuts and the other half with a mixture of cream cheese and powdered sugar, rolled it up, formed a ring, let it rise for an hour and baked it for 20 minutes. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Very moist. Alot better than the dried out ones I have gotten from the supermarket. Using the bread machine to mix the dough makes the preparation very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This was my first attempt at making my own King Cake! I was very impressed by the ease and outcome! I am from New Orleans, but now live in Virginia. I do not want to pay a fortune to have a king cake shipped to me so I asked friends back home for a good recipe...this one was shared and I'm so glad! I used a tad more sugar in the dough than it called for, and I used greek vanilla yogurt instead of sour cream. It was really good. I made it last night and it's already almost gone! And there's only 3 of us in the house! I'll make this again! I think it would be really good with a cream cheese spread inside as well. Oh also, I did not use the nuts in the cinnamon mixture..my hubby is not a fan of nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This bread came out perfectly. I used other reviewers' advice and baked for 25 minutes, reducing heat for last 10 minutes to 350. Also made a chocolate filling with heaping 1/2 cup chocolate chips melted with 2 T butter, and added 1t cinnamon, 1/4 cup brown sugar and 8 oz cream cheese. The only problem I had was the filling gooped out a little in a couple places while baking. I think this may be because I didn't seal the seam carefully. It was my first time making king cake though so I chalk that up to beginner's mistake. Thank you for this wonderful recipe. I am a Virginia native who has lived in Louisiana for the last 15 years. This is a very authentic tasting king cake.. You know it is success when your daughter ( who has lived in Louisiana since she was 2 months old) says "wow Mom-- you made this?"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
It's really just a big cinnamon roll! I doubled filling and used half brown sugar. I omitted pecans. My husband said this cake was awesome. All I will do different next year is instead of using colored sugars I will just divide the icing and use food color (natural brand) because I didn't like all the crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States