Kim's Ultimate Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
This is my husband's favorite meatloaf! I use 2 lbs ground beef and keep all of the other measurements the same. I use balsamic vinegar in the sauce, pat the meat into a square glass pan with an indent in the center, then poke holes with my finger throughout so some of the sauce soaks in. Bake it for 1 1/2 hours at 375. Wonderfully sweet and tangy and the sauce goes great with mashed potatoes too, which are a must with meatloaf in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
Nice gentle sweet flavor, I didn't have cracker crumbs off hand, so I just used regular bread crumbs instead. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trickycoma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
I have been making this recipe for about 4 years and it is always a huge hit!! I get asked on a weekly basis but I usually make 1-2 times a month. I use the recipe as stated except I use ground beef and when it is formed in the pan I take my finger and poke about 3-4 holes through the top down the center, this just allows more of the sauce to absorb. I also add 3/4 cup brown sugar instead of 1/2 and sometimes I even sprinkle a little on the top of the meatloaf. When we cut and serve I take the sauce from the pan and we spoon over our meatloaf as a sauce. Anybody that doesn't like meatloaf definitly try this one, it tastes nothing like the traditional. Hopefully many more will find this recipe to be great!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
This will now be a staple in our home! I made this for the first time last night.I had unexpected guests and was terrifed it would taste good, but it was a hit! The only change that I made was I used balsamic instead of regular vinegar and I put a bit of it in the meat. I used turkey. I used the water in the sauce and basted the meat loaf with the sauce that was in the pan and this worked great. It actually cooked for about 1 hr 20 min. This is a great recipe! Just a side note, this is the first meatloaf I have ever made. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thepennyblack

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
I liked the flavor a lot, but it was a little too moist. I made it with ground chicken, maybe that had something to do with it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
Really enjoyed this recipe. Great complimentary flavors, especially the brown sugar against the vinegar in the suace. Used turkey instead of the lamb, which for me was gold. Recipe makes a little too much of the jus, boiled over in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
I make this all the time...the kids love it....reduce the ingredients for the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
I used ground turkey, very tasty and moist. I did follow the other reviews and halved the topping sauce. Will use recipe again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
Wish I would have left the water out like reviewers suggested! It was pretty good anyway, I just left it in the oven longer. I'll make this again because it's so easy and I'm sure it will be even better next time w/o water!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Bacon-Wrapped Buffalo Meatloaf

Meatloaf made from ground buffalo and vegetables, wrapped in bacon.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States