Kim's Summer Corn Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Oh heck yeah! I get so tired of the same ole/same ole cool summer dishes (think slaw, potato salad, etc.) This was quick, easy and super yummy. The only change I made was using frozen peas instead of canned. I might add some pasta shells when I need a little more substance, but this was great as is. Also a great "leftover" veggies dish. You could easily add that last stalk of celery, artichoke heart, sweet pepper. I'm already thinking about throwing in some pico de gallo for an easy side dish for fish tacos...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Great recipe with a little tweaking. I don't understand why anyone gets upset when people add their own touches. This is the reason I read the recipes. I am always glad to hear how others make it their own way. Don't be so critical! We like to do that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I'm with you, people change your recipe and then give you 3 stars, changed from a fat based sauce to a vinegar base, it's not even close to your recipe. I made it EXACTLY ! Like you listed, it was very good, fresh and very pleasing on a hot day, plates up nice too. I may add a few green onions next time and reduce the purple onion, just cause I love green onions. But your recipe was perfect! Thank you. If you like Shrimp, try my "Kevin's Seashells" listed on this site, let me know what you think, but if anything please use Fresh Shrimp, caught in the USA, not canned shrimp, ( I can't believe they even make canned shrimp) Ewww! I live on the Gulf Of Mexico, so one throw of the net and I have fresh live shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
plan on making this for Thanksgiving! Easy recipe, things have on hand, and not a lot of things the kids won't eat. Will rate after we've eaten. Thanks for sharing with us. Oops, says I have to rate before can comment so will go on and give it a 5 just based on reasons given.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
Made this for a side dish - - my family loved it. I loved it because it was so easy!!! I substituted the mayo for the fat free mayo, and I don't think anyone noticed. I'll be keeping this one on hand for a quick summer side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nnewman6080

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Southgate, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
I made a couple adjustments and it was great! 1) used 1/2 red onion (tossed it with salt in a colander then drained excess liquid before mixing into other ingredients); and 2) used blanched shelled edamame (soy beans) increased of canned peas. The edamame made it bright and had great texture. Oh and I used light mayo instead and added a squeeze of fresh lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
I liked it a lot, but would definitely recommend using fresh corn. The crunch makes it so much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: May 11, 2012
This was delicious and a perfect substitute for a lettuce salad. I used Green Giant Steam Crisp Super Sweet White Corn (11 oz.), Green Giant Steam Crisp Super Sweet Yellow and White (11 oz.), Le Sueur Very Young Small Sweet Peas, a small jar of pimientos, the 2 tomatoes, and cucumber and green onion to our taste preference. I used only 1/4 cup light mayonnaise, which was perfect for this amount of vegetables. It makes a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I made this for a cookout that I went to, and it went over really good. I really love it and will have it again. Unfortunately DH didn't care for it. I used frozen corn & peas though. Because I was worried about about mayonnaise I made and oil & vinegar dressing instead - per one other review. I used a drizzle of sesame oil and 1/4c vegetable oil. I also used 2tbsp balsamic vinegar, then added a drizzle more - so maybe more like 3tbsp? I also added sesame seasoning mix along with the salt and pepper. I also cubed up a block of sharp cheddar cheese to mix in - that went so well with everything else. My MIL really loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Sorry...I have a question...not being a master chef by any means, what can I substitute for the mayonnaise? Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sufferin’ Succotash Corn Salad

See how to make Chef John’s favorite fresh sweet corn salad.

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States