Kim's Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
We've had prime rib at Christmas many years, but this was the BEST recipe we've ever tried. The flavor was absolutely fabulous. We did a light kosher salt & cracked pepper crust on the outside of the roast as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I used a 5 lb. prime rib. I did not have onion salt, so I used garlic salt, not much, as the soy gives it the salty flavor. I should have left it in for a bit longer on the high heat setting, as after the suggested total cooking time, my meat therm. read 137 or so. I took it out at 140, and it was a bit too rare. I was scared of over cooking - overcooked prime rib is a sin! I still prefer a steak grilled on a grill. If you like prime rib, this is a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hubbard Lake, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
AWESOME!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FPEACHROSE7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellmawr, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Williamstown, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
I used real garlic and onions instead of the powdered, plus I added mushrooms and slow-cooked it in the crock pot. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caledon, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
I used an infusion needle instead of the knife but, was astounded to find that the roast resealed itself rather than give up juice as you might expect. I had five guests over and served. Got rave reviews and am forwarding to folks by request. This is definitely 5 star and a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
Key to this recipe was actually "injecting" into the roast. What I found useful: using a 10cc syringe you can grab from the pharmacy. All of the mix poured over the outside (sitting in roaster bottom)...roasted into a cement, ruining our roaster (next time we'll use a doubled-up foil roaster). A1 proved to be a good "brown sauce". Light sea salt before roasting helped create a nice external crusting. Was a good recipe, not great...not unique, but was good/easy enough to use again. Thanks Kim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
Best prime rib recipe I have tried. The marinade works perfectly in bringing out the flavor of the meat. Slow cooking is the way to go so don't turn up the heat to get it cooked faster. I served it with Garlic Mashed potatoes and Steamed Green Beans Almondine for New Year's Day Dinner, it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TONIQ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton Bays, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
I made this for Christmas Eve Dinner and it was great! Tender and juicy. I didn't know what Browning Sauce was, so, I used a packet of Herbed Brown Gravy instead. Really good, except it could use a little adjustment in that next time I would have rubbed the roast on the exterior after injecting the marinade with some kind of fresh-herb, olive oil mixture. I'll have to think more on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
My husband made this for Christmas Eve dinner and it turned out perfect!! The adjustments he made were adding a tablespoon of brown sugar instead of browning sauce and we added a little black pepper. We also reduced the water to a cup and it was wonderful!! Will definitely use this recipe again and again!! Thanks Kim.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Abraham Moy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
Second time I have made this prime rib. Excellent!! Very easy. Used Au Ju sauce (can be found in the seasons aisle) to replace the marinade. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States