Kim's Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I have made this every year starting in 2009 on new years Day. It is wonderful each time. Do not let the one * rating make you not try this. I have done it with a Sirloin Tip roast as well and it was WONDERFUL. Great for a special night. I serve with twice baked potato's and a salad. Easy Easy but DO NOT OPEN THE OVEN when you are in the round 2 of cooking. and remember to let it Rest on the counter for at least 15 min before you slice it so all the meets juice will stay in the meat. This will make all the difference in the world. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina  Diedel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I'd never made prime rib before since it is pricey & I was afraid of cooking it wrong. My oldest son, Dave decided he wanted prime rib for Christmas dinner so he bought one. I followed the directions, the only exception being Dave added minced garlic to the slits in the roast & he added a beer to the marinade. It was moist & tasted wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
This is now my 10th year making this prime rib and it is wonderful. I would never go back to any other recipe!! I misplaced the printed copy from a recent move ~ thank goodness I found it! Happy Holidays ~ as it is our FAVORITE Christmas Day dinner....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Someone asked about the browning sauce...it is called Kitchen Bouquet and usually found near the steak sauce in the grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
This rib roast turned out really, really well. I wasn't a huge fan of the marinade taste but the method of cooking was perfect. Everyone loved it. Will definitely use this again. Thanks so much for posting the recipe. As an additional note, I cooked this to 125 degrees, 45 minutes at 440 degrees and then 1 and 3/4 of an hour at 200 degrees for a 6 lb roast. I then let it sit for 30 minutes to rest. Perfectly cooked for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Best prime rib i've ever had. I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana52082

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This recipe doesn't give as much flavor as using a more traditional rib roast rub of spices and herbs. Also be aware that the cooking time takes longer than the suggested 2.5 hours for a 5 lb roast. Mine needed 3.5 to get to 145 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Amazing! Easy, Delicious, and Minimal Mess! I have used this prime rib recipe for both Thanksgiving and Christmas this year. Thanksgiving was my first time making any sort of prime rib. This recipes is great for a beginner! Everyone loved it! It was so easy, just prepare the marinade and cook in the oven. I only had to use one bowl and a roasting pan. Very little mess made. Both times the roast came out very tender and juicy with lots of flavor. My only suggestion is to be sure that the oven safe pan you are using fits the size of the roast you are serving so that most of the roast is covered by marinade. My only complaint is that it takes up most of my oven for several hours which means I either need to prepare my side dishes ahead of time or I need to prepare stove top side dishes. The browning sauce is a little tricky to find. At our local grocery store I found it by the other sauces but they only had one choice so it was hard to locate. It was on the isle with the BBQ and Worcestershire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Awesome and soo simple!! I like mine more on the rare side so I sliced it thick let it marinate for about an hour then baked it for about 1.5 hrs at 200 degrees. SOOO GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angiehawkey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hicksville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Very good, always looking for a recipe that makes a rare roast beef. This was it. Great flavor. I stuck cut garlic cloves in knife holes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States