Kim's Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
We loved it - but be warned - this is SPICY (and I only used one large jalapeno). If you are having company I would suggest making another macaroni salad along side this one and warn everyone that this salad is spicy!! I ended up trying Mom's Macaroni Salad (on this site) and it was a perfect compliment to this one. No mayo and on the sweet side. Both are keepers!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
I really liked this recipe because it doesn't have alot of mayo, which I don't like. I doubled the recipe using 1 16oz bag of shell pasta. I added chopped red bell pepper and chopped olives for color. I thought using 4 jalepeno's would be too much, but I chopped them finely and it was perfect, I love the faint spicyness. I will definetly make it again. Thanks Hawaiian Momma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollister, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
EXCELLENT mac salad. The spiciness of the jalapeno really gives it a fresh twist. Used about 1/3 jar of sliced peppers (minced them) and it came out with just the right heat. We could eat this all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
We loved this!! Even made it with potatoes. And the surprise of the jalapenos, you never know just how hot it's going to be. And definitely double the recipe. The leftovers are just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
So very tasty. I added a tablespoon of sweet pickle relish. Either way it's a wonderful dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
Thanks Kim for sharing this recipe! This was great, tasted wonderful and easy to prepare! I'm living overseas and couldn't find jalapeno peppers so I used mild red pepper instead and it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
Yum! This was really good for a change from the usual macaroni salad. I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
i absolutely loved this recipe, and so does everyone who tries it! the spiciness is a surprising change that sets this recipe apart and makes it memorable. i changed a few things: i used regular onions instead of green, chopped up a red bell pepper for color, added fresh cilantro, and used fresh ground black pepper instead of white pepper. also, if you want to make this even spicier, DON'T take out the membranes and seeds- that's where all the heat is! anyway, thanks so much for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
Nice flavor with just the right bite-- which you can control by making the sauce first. Was a tad dry as a leftover so if you're making a day in advance you'll want to keep this in mind. We really enjoy this with sloppy Joe's. Thanks, Kim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
I don't eat macaroni salad but made it for a picnic with family who like spicy dishes. Everybody loved it. I had the foresight to put the recipe in my pocket and can't remember how many copies were made that day. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

How to Make Macaroni Salad

This classic macaroni salad recipe is the ideal side for picnics and barbeques.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States