Kim's Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
Wow! Let me start off by saying that I didn't have all the ingredients called for so I had to do some substitutions. Instead of Cider Vinegar I used 1/2 Red Wine Vinegar & 1/2 Balsamic Vinegar. I also didn't have Jalapenos, plus I had to feed this to my kids so I used Yellow Peppers instead, which are much more mild. I also didn't add all of the mayo cause I ran out, but it was only like 3 tablespoons short, which turned out perfect. Once I was done putting it together, I decided to add a little handful of cilantro since it seemed like a good match. [Great choice by the way!] This Mac Salad was OUTSTANDING. I really, really liked it & I am NOT typically a Mac Salad fan. I will definately make this again. Infact, I can't wait to make it for my family who loves spicy stuff. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy of Five

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
We loved it - but be warned - this is SPICY (and I only used one large jalapeno). If you are having company I would suggest making another macaroni salad along side this one and warn everyone that this salad is spicy!! I ended up trying Mom's Macaroni Salad (on this site) and it was a perfect compliment to this one. No mayo and on the sweet side. Both are keepers!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
I really liked this recipe because it doesn't have alot of mayo, which I don't like. I doubled the recipe using 1 16oz bag of shell pasta. I added chopped red bell pepper and chopped olives for color. I thought using 4 jalepeno's would be too much, but I chopped them finely and it was perfect, I love the faint spicyness. I will definetly make it again. Thanks Hawaiian Momma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollister, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
It has been years since I have made macaroni salad and I usually make the recipe off the Hellman's jar. This was good. I was a little concerned with the amount of vinegar in the sauce because it had an overpowering smell, but it gelled in the end and was fine. I only used 1/2 of a jalopeno because mine were HUGE, but I wish I had used the whole thing because for some reason when they are chopped up fine they are not that spicey. I think you have to make this several hours ahead so the flavors have time to mix and the sauce firms up. I will make this again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
So very tasty. I added a tablespoon of sweet pickle relish. Either way it's a wonderful dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
We loved this!! Even made it with potatoes. And the surprise of the jalapenos, you never know just how hot it's going to be. And definitely double the recipe. The leftovers are just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
i absolutely loved this recipe, and so does everyone who tries it! the spiciness is a surprising change that sets this recipe apart and makes it memorable. i changed a few things: i used regular onions instead of green, chopped up a red bell pepper for color, added fresh cilantro, and used fresh ground black pepper instead of white pepper. also, if you want to make this even spicier, DON'T take out the membranes and seeds- that's where all the heat is! anyway, thanks so much for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
EXCELLENT mac salad. The spiciness of the jalapeno really gives it a fresh twist. Used about 1/3 jar of sliced peppers (minced them) and it came out with just the right heat. We could eat this all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
Great basic recipe. To make it healthier, I used fat free mayo, cut back to 1/2 cup, and 1/4 cup of fat free plain yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PARABIANS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boyd, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
Oh gosh, I hate to be the party-pooper here... This salad came out better than most...however, I had to make a few adjustments. I started right away by cutting the vinegar in half. Also, it was a bit too salty for the men in my house, so next time I'll only add salt to taste. To this recipe I also added a tsp. of pimentos, a tad more sugar and a finely diced carrot. With my changes, I'll probably make this salad again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FireGuysWife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Aguanga, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Classic Macaroni Salad

This deli-style macaroni salad will always be a crowd-favorite!

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States