Kim's Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Great recipe -- has just enough "bite" with the cider vinegar to remind me of the macaroni salad I grew up with in Chicago. I only used one small jalapeno, tossed in a very generous tablespoon of pimento and one rib of celery. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
We love this recipe and use it all of the time. We prefer it without the jalapenos and add a grated carrot instead, which is more like the plate lunch mac salad we get in Hawaii.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. L. Bird

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Escanaba, Michigan, USA
Living In: Laie, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
really good. we let it sit and let the flavors soak for 3 days before eating. so good. we LOVE spicy, so we sprinkled just a little minced habenero on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
Good idea! I used a little less mayo. I used 1 small fresh chili peppers instead of jalapenos (thats what was in my fridge) I also added: Celery, Yellow pepper, cherry tomatoes, and cilantro. This made for a very fresh tasting macaroni salad! Thanks for original recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Have made this recipe 3 times now and everytime with rave reviews. The only thing I do is one jalapeno not two because hubby can't handle it. I would never add any other veggies to this recipe its not that kind of recipe. Its a hawaiian mac salad. Not a veggie salad, not a mac salad with mustard like my mother use to make (yuck) 5 stars for the hawaiian mac salad that reminds me of the islands and the plate lunch/loco mocos :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva Vicars

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This dish is very subtle. Nobody comments how good it is until about the second serving, haha. Thank you Kim for sharing this, it brings back very good memories of Hawaii.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
It was awesome!! I may use less vinegar next time because I don't like the smell or taste, but that won't stop me from making this again. I plan to take it to work if I can get my husband out of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hudkinsfamily08

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I just had to add two hard boiled eggs and little more sugar. Seemed salty. Then it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri from Vista CA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I tried this right after I made it (before chilling), and I really didn't care for it!! I was so disappointed, but I just had some now - 4 hours later - and I love it! 5 stars. I changed some things based on what I have on hand - red wine vinegar and chilies instead of jalapenos, and brown sugar instead of white. I might eat the rest of the macaroni before everyone else gets to it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
I love macaroni salad and have eaten so many different varieties but this is hands down my favorite. I use fat free miracle whip in place of the mayo and only use 1/2 cup, but other than that I follow the recipe exactly. It is AMAZING! I have it at least once a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nbshow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

How to Make Macaroni Salad

This classic macaroni salad recipe is the ideal side for picnics and barbeques.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States