Kim's Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
I tried this because it sounded different from traditional macaroni salad. I was afraid it would be the jalapeno that was the turn off but the vinegar was so horrid in this that we all had only 1 bite. Sorry for the bad review, but we wouldn't have even given 1 star. The mayo ratio to the pasta was right on and the times and cooking directions were too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
I thought this recipe was great. But, rather than use a fresh jalapeno...I just used jar jalapenos. I also added a celery so a bit of the crunch wasn't always biting into a jap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
Really good! I tend to not like the over the top mayonaise though so I used a little extra macaroni but it turned out great. The spice from the jalapenos was just right. I'd say next time though I'd consider adding a little more pepper or chile peppers or maybe even cumin because it felt like it was missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
If you like something with kick, this is it. Be warned this is not for the indigestion sufferers. I ended up making 12 servings which called for 4 jalapeno's but scaled it back to about 2 & 1/2 which was MORE than enough. I also added celery and pimento for color and texture. Very good but unfortunately 3 bites and I was reaching for the pepcid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
Absolutely excellent! Easy to make and great taste. This one is a keeper, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TGIFMNTGIRL
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
Great recipe, I only had to make it a cup of mayo instead of 3/4c. Macaroni is a little dry if you don't add the extra mayo. the flavor is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
GREAT RECIPE. The only changes I made were to use dumpling egg noodles, 1 cup of frozen peas and 4 hard boiled eggs, chopped fine. This recipe will easily fit into my favorites list. Thanks, iota
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Sobieski, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
Y-U-M-M-O!! I THOUGHT THIS WAS A REALLY GOOD RECIPE! I ALSO DOUBLED THE BATHC, ADDED RED BELL PEPPERS, USED BLACK PEPPER AND ADDED A FULL PINCH OF CAYENNE! VERY GOOD... THANKS FOR SHARING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Safford, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
It has been years since I have made macaroni salad and I usually make the recipe off the Hellman's jar. This was good. I was a little concerned with the amount of vinegar in the sauce because it had an overpowering smell, but it gelled in the end and was fine. I only used 1/2 of a jalopeno because mine were HUGE, but I wish I had used the whole thing because for some reason when they are chopped up fine they are not that spicey. I think you have to make this several hours ahead so the flavors have time to mix and the sauce firms up. I will make this again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
great recipe. I used serrano chile because the store was out of jalepeno peppers and added soMe cayenne because i'm big on spice. very easy to make. thanks fOr sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camille

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Camp Pendleton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

How to Make Macaroni Salad

This classic macaroni salad recipe is the ideal side for picnics and barbeques.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States