Kim's Garlic Breadsticks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
This recipe is exactly as described, delicious soft Olive garden-like bread sticks. I used oil instead of butter in the dough because I didn't have enough for the dough and the topper, and it made no difference. Be warned that it really does make 16 breadsticks though so cut the recipe in half unless you want to feed 8 people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
It was real bland. Great texture, looked and smelled great coming out of the oven. I let them rise on a warm surface for about 45 minutes. Everyone was too hungry to wait on the bread. I will make these again but next time I will season them up a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
For some reason I don't think my dough raised, or at least not much. They were extremely dense after baking. Too bad. Won't attempt to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
used a bit more salt and threw in a dash or so of garlic powder before letting rise, awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
These were great! Melt in your mouth good claimed my husband; which is a high complement :) Not bland like others I have tried. I liked that they weren't too dense. I didn't have kosher salt so I used my sea salt grinder which was wonderful! Loved eating them along with my Italian vegetable soup recipe! Mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I've made this recipe twice now and my family and I cant get enough of them! It makes a lot, so i cut it in half. I also like to add garlic and onion powder:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morgan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I'll give this recipe 3 stars, but I did alter it some but mostly because of the texture of the finished product. It was very light and fluffy bread and while it was very tasty bread, breadsticks should have a more dense texture. I scaled the recipe down to fit into my bread machine so I used 3 1/2 cups of flour. The dough has a nice texture when it comes out of the bread machine. When I scaled down the recipe I did round the numbers a bit to accomidate. But to the dough, I also added 1 1/2 to 2 tablespoons of minced garlic and 1/4 cup Parmesan cheese to the dough. Then for the butter topping I increased the garlic to 1+ teaspoon of garlic powder. I didn't measure, but just palmed the garlic powder. I think next time I would use 4 tablespoons of butter for the topping because 3 was barely enough to cover the breadsticks a second time after baking. After spreading the garlic butter on top I sprinkled a bit more Parmesan cheese on top. I palmed the Parmesan and sprinkled it on by hand so it's just a light touch of it added. Then baked them. After baking I used the remaining garlic butter on top and sprinkled the tops with a bit of kosher salt while wet so it sticks well. We like a lot of garlic in our house so the garlic amount was just perfect for my family. I think you want them to raise a bit but not as much as you would a bread and an hour was to long. I also used a heating pad for about 15-20 min. I made 15 breadsticks with my scaled down recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Add 1 tbsp garlic powder to the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I had waned to make cheese sticks for lunches, so I used this recipe as a base. I flattened the dough, put a strip of grated cheese down the middle, then closed the dough around, before letting it rise for the hour. Then brushed with butter and baked. Turned out excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sssandyo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Qualicum Beach, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
My family knows I have a fear of yeast. So whenever I attempt a recipe using it, they cheer loudly when the recipe works. This recipe worked! In fact, I have now made this recipe 3 times and it was successful each time, although my shaping skills still need some work. I made the recipe as written; I also added garlic powder to the dough and sprinkled Parmesan cheese to the top. My family wasn't picky about the method, they ate all of them any way I tried it. If you are a beginner to yeast, this is a very forgiving recipe to try on, and a bonus is you only stir and kneed for 3 minutes. Thanks Kimbers for sharing a recipe that I can now confidently make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Sirloin Steak with Garlic Butter

See how to make grilled sirloin steak with a luscious garlic and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States