Kim's Chocolate Fudge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
This cake is definitely decadent yet easy! You'd really never know it was a boxed cake - it's that good! It's very dense, moist, rich, and chocolately - what more could you ask for from such a simple recipe! You really don't even need frosting, just a dusting of confectioners' sugar which provided a nice contrast and didn't ruin the flavor. I did omit the cinnamon and swithed the amounts of water and coffee liqueur. Other than that, I wouldn't change a thing. This cake is perfect when you don't have time to make a scratch cake but want something that tastes like you did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
More than 20 years ago, I made this cake for my brother when he was in the hospital, after clipping the recipe from the newspaper. I remember he thought it was a slice of heaven! I lost the recipe and have looked for it repeatedly over the years, only managing to find cake recipes that were "close," but not quite it. I was thrilled to find the recipe again! This is a great and easy cake, though my preference is without the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2000
This recipe is a definite "win" for chocolate lovers everywhere!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
Best Chocolate Cake ever!! I have been on a (very expensive, very messy) quest, making recipes from many sites, one of which is the acknowledged king of cooking sites--America's Test Kitchen,and I have just not been happy! However, I can tell you, for texture, moist and dense, chocolate flavor that is intense but not overwhelming, this is your cake! My search is over!! PS: You don't need frosting for this, but I would suggest a little confectioners sugar or cocoa powder dusted over the top and maybe a fresh fruit and mint garnish just for looks. Many times when people see a cake in a bundt style they assume that it is dry and crumbly... This cake would be passed on by at the potlucks I go to--My husband calls it a "Sleeper" cake, you can put it out and be assured that there will be a piece left for you when you are ready for it--it won't get gobbled up unless someone knows your secret. FYI: I made Bobby Flay's Dark Chocolate Mousse as an over the top combination...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
I was still full from dinner, but I made the ultimate sacrifice and taste-tested a sliver of cake--now I am nearly in a chocolate-induced coma. It is so moist, with pockets of creamy chocolate, and very rich. I used fat-free, sugar-free pudding mix and light sour cream, thinking I would save a few calories; then (I'm embarrassed to admit this) I negated the calorie-save by drizzling on an entirely unnecessary chocolate glaze. For the liqueur, I used half butterscotch schnappes and half coffee liqueur. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2004
GREAT! My family just LOVED this cake! Very chocolate-y! I served with frosting on the side so everyone could frost as much or as little as they wanted. Followed recipe on box of powdered sugar for buttercream frosting and added 1/3 cup of cocoa to make it chocolate. Excellent! TIP: Use cocoa instead of flour when dusting the bundt pan - you won't see white flour all over your pretty chocolate cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2000
This cake is very moist. I didn't have the coffe liquor so I just used coffe and it worked great. Also I didn;t put any frosting on the cake I just dusted it with conf. sugar. It was a huge hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
This cake was easy to make and very moist. I only gave it 4 stars because my family found the coffee liqueur taste to be overpowering. I will try this again without the liquer. I used a Bundt Cake Glaze recipe from this site and it was very good on the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I cut the calories a bit by using sugar-free fat-free pudding mix, and it tasted great! I also used mini chocolate chips, just 1 cup. I added 1/3 cup of white creme de menthe liqueur for a subtle mint taste. We liked it a lot; I might even try adding 1/2 cup next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2002
This cake was moist and delicious! It was so easy to make and it came out perfect. Everyone loved it! I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States