Kimmy's Favorite Sweet and Sour Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Very good. Used "lite" soy sauce. Chicken stock in place of water and slightly less sugar which made it sweet enough.Everything else followed exact. Use 1/3 CAN of tomato soup and divide the rest into two labeled ziplock bags and freeze for the next time...no point in wasting it and all you'll have to do the next time is throw the frozen "chunk" of soup in when it's time. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
My family and I enjoyed this a lot. Thankfully, I read the reviews before I made it, so I was able to make the modifications that I felt were appropriate. I added 2 tbsps. of ginger to the marinade. I also used equal parts sugar and vinegar, and added all the juice from a 20 oz. can of pineapple chunks. (I only used half the can of pineapples, though. The rest are sitting in the fridge for a healthy midnight snack later.) I completely omitted the tomato soup and carrots as my family is not a fan of either ingredient. Next time I make it (and there will DFEINITELY be a next time) I am going to dredge the chicken pieces, and add the bell pepper with the chicken and pineapples. I love when the recipes I find here actually work!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Malia Brinkley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I didn't try it because I'm vegetarian haha but my family and guests gave it rave reviews!! I used fresh pineapple and the juice from 1/2 a large orange instead of pineapple juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
I'm so sorry, but we didn't enjoy this recipe at all. I think it was the tomato soup that killed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
It didn't taste like restaurant quality, but it was a good dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by StickySue
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I have made this 4 times before, 3 time with chicken thighs bl/sl and once with pork it turn out great each time. I must admit that I subbed 1/3 Ketchup in place of tomato soup and cut back on the to a 1/4 cup vinegar and 1/2 cup of 0 calorie sweetner. I will keep on making this Dish!! Thanks, Happy Cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StickySue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
I used a gourmet pomegranate flavored vinegar. It turned it a dark color but it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Fast and delicious Even faster if stir fry veggies while making sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I liked this one but it was way too sweet. I made it as the recipe call for but next time I think I will but half the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
This was delicious and so easy to make.My husband really liked it too. I'll definitely make it again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States