Kimchi Jun (Kimchi Pancake) and Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
These are a great way to enjoy Kimchi for all of us Kimchi lovers out there. The second time I made it I used whole wheat flour and added the salt into the batter, as well as some baking powder to make them rise a little bit like regular pancakes. Great along side stir fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bullcitybob

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Ozark, Missouri, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
LOVE THIS! Very simple and delicious. I used some overly fermented kimchi that I couldn't bear to toss and since there wasn't much juice I added water instead. I used whole wheat flour and added 2 tsp cornstarch like another reviewer recommended. Cooked them on my nonstick griddle without the oil at somewhere between 350F and 375F. Served with sides of miso soup and steamed kale. This is definitely replacing my old bland scallion pancake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Lol Kimchi Pancakes are one of the reasons I married my husband (he's Korean)! Haven't tried it this way.. We usually just get mix at the asian store.. Will have to try it this way next time I make Kimchi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbdahill

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muscle Shoals, Alabama, USA
Living In: Tuscumbia, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
They were so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
I loved it very much! It was millions times better than American breakfast pancake. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
Yum, yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
My Mother in law is Korean and this is how she cooks her pancakes! So yummy! She also throws in a can of tuna sometimes, very good and the only way my 5 yr old son will eat fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
I loved these. Such a nice, savory and slightly spicy dinner pancake. I made the dipping sauce but once tasting the pancake decided it would be good with something to balance it. This is not very authentic, but I mixed some hot chili paste with sour cream and just loved it served with that. What a great recipe and way to use Kim chee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JL
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Delicious! We were looking for a way to use our giant bucket of kimchi and these did the trick. These were slightly spicy but not as hot as the kimchi itself. I added a little baking powder as another review suggested and this made the pancakes rise well. We dipped them in the sauce but thought they tasted fine without it as well. Served it with steamed veggies drizzled with some of the sauce. We will definitely make these again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States