Kimchi Jun (Kimchi Pancake) and Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Excellent recipe! Some tips to make it better: Do not incorporate the egg into the batter. Instead, crack and beat an egg all at once. Once you have the pancake spread out in the oil, gently pour the egg on top. Also, two teaspoons of cornstarch really crispens up the pancake. Be sure not to lay on the batter too thick -- make it super thin to start with, as it will puff up a bit, even without the addition of baking powder. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Easiest Korean dish to make! I love all Korean jeon(pancakes)and I often make this with the easiest recipe I am so used to: flour mix with chopped kimchi, more fermented the better, add water to make the mixture gooey and just pour it in sizzling oil. When it is fried crispy enough turn it over to the other side. I suggest no eggs to make the kimchi jeon more crispy and savory, eggs make it just too soft and moist. With this recipe kimchi cannot go wrong!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
This was okay. Missing pork flavor though. Next time I think I'm going to add thinly sliced strips of pork or ground pork to add that flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Lol Kimchi Pancakes are one of the reasons I married my husband (he's Korean)! Haven't tried it this way.. We usually just get mix at the asian store.. Will have to try it this way next time I make Kimchi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbdahill

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muscle Shoals, Alabama, USA
Living In: Tuscumbia, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
LOVE THIS! Very simple and delicious. I used some overly fermented kimchi that I couldn't bear to toss and since there wasn't much juice I added water instead. I used whole wheat flour and added 2 tsp cornstarch like another reviewer recommended. Cooked them on my nonstick griddle without the oil at somewhere between 350F and 375F. Served with sides of miso soup and steamed kale. This is definitely replacing my old bland scallion pancake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
These are a great way to enjoy Kimchi for all of us Kimchi lovers out there. The second time I made it I used whole wheat flour and added the salt into the batter, as well as some baking powder to make them rise a little bit like regular pancakes. Great along side stir fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bullcitybob

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Ozark, Missouri, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
DELISH! Good for when you're not full yet but you're not that hungry. I added some milk and water to the batter because it seemed dry. I also sprinkled in some salt and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
It was alright. Nowhere near as good as the authentic kimchi pancakes my mom makes but got rid of all my overly-fermented kimchi. It's a decent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
Yum, yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
I loved it very much! It was millions times better than American breakfast pancake. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States