Kimchi Jun (Kimchi Pancake) and Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
I loved it very much! It was millions times better than American breakfast pancake. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
Yum, yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
These are a great way to enjoy Kimchi for all of us Kimchi lovers out there. The second time I made it I used whole wheat flour and added the salt into the batter, as well as some baking powder to make them rise a little bit like regular pancakes. Great along side stir fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bullcitybob

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Ozark, Missouri, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
I loved these. Such a nice, savory and slightly spicy dinner pancake. I made the dipping sauce but once tasting the pancake decided it would be good with something to balance it. This is not very authentic, but I mixed some hot chili paste with sour cream and just loved it served with that. What a great recipe and way to use Kim chee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JL
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Delicious! We were looking for a way to use our giant bucket of kimchi and these did the trick. These were slightly spicy but not as hot as the kimchi itself. I added a little baking powder as another review suggested and this made the pancakes rise well. We dipped them in the sauce but thought they tasted fine without it as well. Served it with steamed veggies drizzled with some of the sauce. We will definitely make these again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
They were so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
It was alright. Nowhere near as good as the authentic kimchi pancakes my mom makes but got rid of all my overly-fermented kimchi. It's a decent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Excellent recipe! Some tips to make it better: Do not incorporate the egg into the batter. Instead, crack and beat an egg all at once. Once you have the pancake spread out in the oil, gently pour the egg on top. Also, two teaspoons of cornstarch really crispens up the pancake. Be sure not to lay on the batter too thick -- make it super thin to start with, as it will puff up a bit, even without the addition of baking powder. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
You can also make a yummy version of these with green onion kimchi. I used only the chopped kimchi, egg and flour and then fry. Good after the bar food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Keusen

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States