Kimchi Jun (Kimchi Pancake) and Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
One of my fav's to use up the extras in the refrigerator, including the end of the Kimchee jar. To make the outsides extra crispy and boost the protein level of this add part besan (chickpea flour - found in indian food markets) to the wheat flour specified. I like them with a 50/50 mix. Add a bit of sesame oil to the cooking oil to give a nice flavor. I also make these without the kimchee, using other scrap veggies and indian spices in batter such as cumin, turmeric, coriander, and/or garam masala. Sour cream or plain yogurt dip also good with indian version. Also can add thai curry pastes and fish sauce to spice it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
My Mother in law is Korean and this is how she cooks her pancakes! So yummy! She also throws in a can of tuna sometimes, very good and the only way my 5 yr old son will eat fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Lol Kimchi Pancakes are one of the reasons I married my husband (he's Korean)! Haven't tried it this way.. We usually just get mix at the asian store.. Will have to try it this way next time I make Kimchi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbdahill

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muscle Shoals, Alabama, USA
Living In: Tuscumbia, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I've made these a hundred times and they are delish and fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Easiest Korean dish to make! I love all Korean jeon(pancakes)and I often make this with the easiest recipe I am so used to: flour mix with chopped kimchi, more fermented the better, add water to make the mixture gooey and just pour it in sizzling oil. When it is fried crispy enough turn it over to the other side. I suggest no eggs to make the kimchi jeon more crispy and savory, eggs make it just too soft and moist. With this recipe kimchi cannot go wrong!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
My pancakes didn't really turn out like those pictured, so I'm not sure if I made a mistake or if the recipe just isn't all that great. Thank goodness kimchi is so flavorful, otherwise I'm not sure there'd be too much to these pancakes. I added a few teaspoons of white rice flour since it helps things crisp up nicely, but it didn't seem to add much crispiness. We really liked the dipping sauce, but maybe we'll give another kimchi pancake recipe a try next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Good recipe, I add 1 tsp sugar to the batter. It helps round out the flavor. This is a great way to use up over ripe kimchi. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
DELISH! Good for when you're not full yet but you're not that hungry. I added some milk and water to the batter because it seemed dry. I also sprinkled in some salt and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
This was okay. Missing pork flavor though. Next time I think I'm going to add thinly sliced strips of pork or ground pork to add that flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This was just ok. My husband who is Korean didn't like them- he said it was missing something!?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States