Kimbop (Korean Sushi) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
It sounds good but my mom is Korean and she has never made it with ham or cheese. We always ate it with egg, carrots, dakquan(which is pickled yellow radish), and occasionally beef or dried squid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
Yes, again the cheese is weird to me too, but with that said kimbap can be made anyway you want. Kim - is seaweed and bap - is rice, the possibilities are endless and I had it many ways. Each family makes it differently. I personally like mine with dak - quang (pickled radish), bulgogi (korean beef), steamed spinach, egg and carrots. It's just what I'm used to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
I agree with the others. Some of the ingredients were a little odd. My favorite is imitation crab meat, kimchee (lay on paper towel first to get rid of most of the juice), egg, pickled radish, and carrot sticks (I parboil them first so that they aren't so crunchy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
As to those who said this wasn't authentic or how they had it, I wrote it as it was given to me by a Korean student studying here. It is possible that she was using the ingredients available here and not making it quite the way it is usually made, but she didn't say anything to that effect. Also, I spoke to a friend of mine who said that she had the same thing made by another Korean student studying in Canada. This may be due to the area they were from or just the generation they were born in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Algona, Washington, USA
Living In: Fort St. John, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
Its okay as long as you sorta tweak it cheese is popular with the korean teenagers but most kim bab is made without cheese. Also I always had kimbab with hotdogs, sliced lengthwise. Also, this is missing "dan-moo-gee" which is pickled radish, gives the kim bab a good tangy taste. but if you want to make it with cheese, here are some other "fusion" ingrediants to add: tuna, beef, kimchi, pork cutlet. and for vegetarians, you can make this without any meat, still tasty if you make it right
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sungmi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
Everything was great, except me being Korean, the cheese is not very traditional, nor the ham - more commonly bulgogi or spam are used instead, and alternate of cheese, there's this korean yellow radish - none the less, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
this is my all time favorite. very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sophiemac

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
I am Korean and I have been around long enough to know that everyone has different flavors. My mom use to make ours with hotdogs, and I have heard of people using cream cheese. I think what ever you have in your kitchen, as any thing goes. A good note to everyone is not to fill it with too much rice or it will be hard to roll about a 1/4 inch layer should be good. And make sure that everything is patted dry or you will rip the seaweed when you roll,cut or eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Super good, and super easy to "personalize". Our neighbor makes hers with fried SPAM strips, pickled daikon, and egg. Sometimes we use blanched carrot strips, too. Sometimes, kimchee and beef. Any way you make these, they're delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
I grew up eating Kim Bap as my Dad spent some time in Korea as a young man and I have never had it with cheeseo.O But other wise it sounds right. My Dad uses ham once in a while just for a different twist:) My birthday is in a few days and he is making this for me! Oh Yeah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Types of Sushi

Get a quick introduction to beautiful, delicious sushi.

Korean Fried Chicken

See how to make tender, extra-crispy, double-fried Korean chicken.

How To Make Sushi Rice

Learn the best way to make sushi rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States