Kimbop (Korean Sushi) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
As to those who said this wasn't authentic or how they had it, I wrote it as it was given to me by a Korean student studying here. It is possible that she was using the ingredients available here and not making it quite the way it is usually made, but she didn't say anything to that effect. Also, I spoke to a friend of mine who said that she had the same thing made by another Korean student studying in Canada. This may be due to the area they were from or just the generation they were born in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Algona, Washington, USA
Living In: Fort St. John, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
this is my all time favorite. very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sophiemac

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Super good, and super easy to "personalize". Our neighbor makes hers with fried SPAM strips, pickled daikon, and egg. Sometimes we use blanched carrot strips, too. Sometimes, kimchee and beef. Any way you make these, they're delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
They put cheese in all kinds of things in Korea...Cheese Ramen, cheese don-kass....why not kimbop? I am sure it tastes great...Korean Fusion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Very good! We lived in Northern China for 3 years and I would walk once or twice a week to a local butcher shop. The cleanest butcher shop in our area and it just happened to be owned by a husband and wife from Korea. There are apparently a lot of Koreans in that area of China. The butchers wife made these and sold them in the shop. She made them with ham but no cheese.....cheese was very expensive there so that may be why she didn't use the cheese. She also made one with tuna (canned) and pineapple. Sounds strange but it was delicious! So glad I found this recipe.....I really miss living in China and I miss the Korean butcher and his lovely wife. This is definitely a comfort food for me now! So THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU to Katie K for posting this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
I am Korean and I have been around long enough to know that everyone has different flavors. My mom use to make ours with hotdogs, and I have heard of people using cream cheese. I think what ever you have in your kitchen, as any thing goes. A good note to everyone is not to fill it with too much rice or it will be hard to roll about a 1/4 inch layer should be good. And make sure that everything is patted dry or you will rip the seaweed when you roll,cut or eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
This was first time making these so I didn't have high hopes, but the recipe was easy to follow. Only thing is I accidentally rolled them into huge canons and had a hard time cutting them into bite sizes. The ingredients were a little Americanized but at least they're easy to find! I'll experiment more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
I grew up eating Kim Bap as my Dad spent some time in Korea as a young man and I have never had it with cheeseo.O But other wise it sounds right. My Dad uses ham once in a while just for a different twist:) My birthday is in a few days and he is making this for me! Oh Yeah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I used radish and crab as well but I didn't use the cheese. I oiled the outside of the roll with a touch of sesame oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanieMomof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
I have been living in Seoul for a little while now and it is pretty common to see kimbap with ham and cheese. I prefer tuna to ham or cheese though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Types of Sushi

Get a quick introduction to beautiful, delicious sushi.

Korean Fried Chicken

See how to make tender, extra-crispy, double-fried Korean chicken.

How To Make Sushi Rice

Learn the best way to make sushi rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States