Kim Chee Squats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
I've never had Kimchee before so I have nothing to compare it to, and I have no idea if this is authentic or not! Despite the fact I was a bit heavy-handed with the ginger, I actually really enjoyed this. I followed another reviewer's advice and simply left the jarred Kimchee out on the kitchen counter for a couple of days. The flavor was wonderful (if a little too gingery!). I served this with 'Korean BBQ Beef (Pul-Kogi)' from this site. I'll defintiely make it again. Thanks, John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
As a Korean myself, I find this recipe a little odd. I used to watch my mother make Kimchee and she never used fresh ginger, vinegar, or sugar in the mix. You want to break off the leaves of the cabbage and place them in a bowl, sprinkling a little salt on each leaf as you go. After salting the cabbage, fill the dish with water and then let it soak for 3-4 hours. Massage the cabbage then drain and rinse. Chop cabbage into 2-3 inch segments then toss well with the rest of the ingredients (I wouldn't suggest using ginger, vinegar, or sugar; but do what you think you'll like). Then pack it tightly into a jar, you don't want a lot of air within the jar, so use the right size jar. Kimchee is a fermented cabbage dish, therefore, if you leave it out in a warm area for 24-48 hours instead of refridgerating, the taste will be authentic. It's more of an acquired taste. It will also last way more than a week, I'd say about a month easy. We ate it straight out of the bottle; it goes well with some rice! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
followed recipe exactly and was disturbed by the results -texture alone was a turnoff. overpowering flavour and totally unappealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
This sauce/brine is excellent. The only change I made was adding a few dried hot peppers and putting all ingredients in a blender (because I prefer to bite into nothing but the cabbage). When I read the ingredients I honestly wasn't so sure if this was going to taste like Kimshi exactly, & I used regular Chili powder & had to substitute 1/2 apple cider vinegar & 1/2 red wine vinegar (since that is all I had). But I can tell after about 12 hours only that this is truly Kimshi. This stuff is going to be absolutely fantastic in another day. I accidentally used red cabbage & can just imagine how dynamite this stuff is with Chinese cabbage. Kimshi is not always easy to find here, so this is just wonderful to know this recipe is so good & I can make it at home now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
Very easy to make, but you have to like cabbage to enjoy this scrumptious meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
I did not care for the taste at first but the longer I let it sit in the frig the better it tastes, not I can not keep enough. It lasts way longer than one week, I made mine at least 3 months ago still going strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2004
This recipe is very good. I have another idea to substitute the vinegar with a natural ones. Boiled 3/4 cup water with 1/4 cup rice powder( may double),cook until thick and set aside until completely cool. Mix with another spices and cabbage. After more than 24 hour it becomes natural sweet and sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bunda Estherlita Suryoputro

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bontang, Kalimantan Timur, Indonesia
Living In: Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Asian Coleslaw

This coleslaw makes a delicious side dish. The secret? Peanut butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States