Killer Shrimp Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2006
My brother and I used to go to the Santa Monica Killer Shrimp...I was so psyched to see this recipe! It turned out well, but here's my asterisk: I couldn't imagine using a pound of butter in this. Heaven knows there's no substitute for butter, but still...! I ended up sauteeing the garlic (and a chopped shallot, since I had some) in one stick of butter plus a tablespoon of olive oil, and even that was probably twice the fat I needed. I also agree with another reviewer that the heat could be turned up with red pepper flakes or a minced chile, but that's personal preference. Dang good shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doughgirl8

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
Delicious! Similar to a dish served at Bubba Gump's Restaurant at Pier 39 in San Francisco. Tastes even better the next day after the flavors blended even more! Don't leave out the wine! I added some quick cooking brown rice before the shrimp for extra nutrition and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYBOYD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
I've been to the Killer Shrimp in Studio City California (several times)and recently moved out of state. I was thrilled to find this recipe online. It's the next best thing to the restaraunt itself. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
I love this recipe! I've been two both Killer Shrimp locations and i love that place. I do agree with the other users, Way too much butter! I think i'm going to cut it by 1/3 next time. Also not enuff kick i agree. I added some red pepper flakes as well as some tobasco. I will definatey use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci, Sheridan OR
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
Now this is one FANTASTIC soup!!! Marvelous flavor, sensational aroma that fills the house while it's simmering for 3 hours, and to top it off the guests are standing around salivating until they can get their hands on it. I will serve this one again and again and ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci, Sheridan OR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA
Living In: Sheridan, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
this soup was awesome! and it wasn't difficult to make, just a bit time consuming. it was definitely worth the 3 hour wait though. i actually used margarine and half of what the recipe called for. it still came out wonderful. definitely, get the bread for sopping up all that yummy juice! goes great with a salad and a glass of chilled white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by possum419

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
Tweak it a bit for a rich and flavorful soup that is different. I used 1/2 cup butter and think that is plenty. I added 1 stalk diced celery, a bay leaf, Old Bay Seasoning (a must), and a dash of Worcestire sauce and Franks Red Hot Sauce. Sautee the veggies and spices in a bit of olive oil before you add the broth. Add spinach or parsley right before serving for looks and health. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
This recipe was close to the Killer Shrimp restaurant, however the sauce wasn't spicy enough. I will try adding crushed pepper next time to raise the heat level. This recipe was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
We have updated this recipe due to an error in the amount of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
241 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by quiet_place
Reviewed: May 27, 2006
Amazing blend of flavors! I halved the recipe, but otherwise followed it exactly. The soup was so delicious that we could have eaten it without the shrimp! The herb combination is just perfect. Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by quiet_place

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States